To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Emanuel County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Emanuel County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Swainsboro
Organized: December 10, 1812
Parent County(s): Bulloch, Montgomery[1]
Neighboring Counties
Bulloch  • Burke  • Candler  • Jefferson  • Jenkins  • Johnson  • Laurens  • Montgomery  • Tattnall  • Toombs  • Treutlen
See County Maps
Courthouse
Emanuel County Court House Swainsboro, Georgia.jpg
Location Map
Emanuel County Georgia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for former Governor of Georgia David Emanuel. The County is located in the central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Emanuel County Courthouse
201 N Main Street
PO Box 787
Swainsboro, GA 30401-2042
Phone: 912-237-8911
Emanuel County Website

Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and probate records.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records from 1812.[3]

Emanuel County, Georgia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1919 1812 1919 1812 1812 1812 1820
Statewide registration of births and death began in 1919. General compliance for births by 1928 and deaths by 1922.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1841 The courthouse at Swainsboro burned 10 May 1841. Most county records were lost, but significant records still survive. Fires in 1919 and 1938 damaged the courthouse but no further county records were lost.[5]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
  • Kirby
  • Lexsy
  • Lombard
  • Norristown Junction
Census-designated places

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Emanuel, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Emanuel County cemeteries.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Emanuel County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Jefferson CountyBurke CountyJenkins CountyBulloch CountyCandler CountyTattnall CountyToombs CountyMontgomery CountyTreutlen CountyJohnson CountyGA EMANUEL.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Emanuel County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Emanuel County:

- 32nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company G
- 34th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company G
- 35th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company G
- 38th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company C
- 48th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company H
- 54th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company C


  • Dorsey, James Edwards. 1978. Footprints along the Hoopee: a history of Emanuel County, 1812-1900. Spartanburg, South Carolina: Reprint Company Publishers. (page 66-84)975.8684 H2dj
  • Dorsey, James Edwards, and John K. Derden. 1983. Gone, but not forgotten: a tombstone registry of Emanuel County, Georgia. Swainsboro, Georgia: Magnolia Press. (Entire Book)975.8684 V3d


World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Voting Records

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.

Birth[edit | edit source]

  • 1818-1885 Emanuel County Birth Index 1818-1885. Batch C712751 at FamilySearch[8]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Emanuel County, Georgia" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Emanuel_County,_Georgia accessed 31 Oct 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Emanuel County, Georgia. Page 151-163 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 155-160.
  5. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 30. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Emanuel County, Georgia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Emanuel_County%2C_Georgia, accessed 14 Febuary 2019.
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.