Ely St Mary, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Ely St Mary, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Ely St Mary, Cambridgeshire|
|Poor Law Union||Ely|
|Parish registers: 1670|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1599|
|Diocese||[[Diocese of Ely|Ely]]|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
ELY, a city, exclusively of the extra-parochial liberty of the College, comprises the parish of St. Mary, which, with the chapelry of Chettisham, and the parish of Holy Trinity, which, with the chapelry of Stuntney. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Countess of Huntingdon's Connexion, Independents, and Wesleyans. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Ely St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Ely St Mary Online Parish Records|
|IGI||1599-1700, 1701-1812, 1820-1838||
|FS Catalog BTs||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches
- Countess of Huntingdon Methodist
- Primitive Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Ely St Mary on GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 167-173. Date accessed and adapted: 03 July 2013.