Elvaston cum Thurlston and Amaston, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Elvaston cum Thurlston and Amaston, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Elvaston cum Thurlston and Amaston, Derbyshire|
Elvaston St Bartholomew Derbyshire.jpg
|Hundred||Morlestone and Litchurch|
|Poor Law Union||Shardlow|
|Parish registers: 1651|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1662|
|Rural Deanery||Stanton by Bridge|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Elvaston cum Thurlston and Ambaston is an Ancient Parish in the county of Derbyshire. Other places in the parish include: Ambaston and Thurlston. The parish church is dedicated to St Bartholomew and is within the grounds of Elvaston Castle.
ELVASTON (St. Bartholomew), a parish, in the union of Shardlow, hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, S. division of the county of Derby, 4½ miles (S. E. by E.) from Derby. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. 
ELVASTON, a parish in Shardlow district, Derbyshire; on the river Derwent, adjacent to the Derby canal, and the Derby and Leicester railway, near Borrowash r. station, and 4½ miles SE by E of Derby. Post town, Alvaston, under Derby..
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).
Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Elvaston parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Elvaston St Bartholomew (1651) Parish Online Records|
Derbyshire Record Office reference D2081 has deposited registers Bap 1651-1873 Mar 1651-1704, 1719-1967 Burials 1702-1893 Banns 1755-1812, 1899-1944
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Elvaston on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]