Elton, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Elton, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Elton, Durham
Elton St John Co Durham.jpg
Elton St John Co Durham
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stockton
County Durham
Poor Law Union Stockton
Registration District Stockton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1573
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stockton
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

ELTON, a parish, in the union of Stockton, SW division of Stockton ward, S division of the county of Durham, 3 miles WSW from Stockton. [1]

Additional information:
Elton St John is an Ancient Parish and its current church was built in 1840 to replace the previous church on the same site.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Elton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Northumberland and Durham Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Durham Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
FS BTs = England, Durham Diocese Bishop's Transcripts, 1639-1919 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Marr Img = England, Durham Diocese, Calendar of Marriage Bonds & Allegations, 1594-1815 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Marr = England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds & Allegations, 1692-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
Elton Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1990
1538-1989
1538-2000
TGEN 1559-1800s
1558-1800s
1559-1800s
JOIN

1574-1836


FS BTs
1639-1919
1639-1919
1639-1919
FS Marr Img


1594-1815

FS Marr

1692-1900


BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1559-1999
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

None

Census records[edit | edit source]

  • According to Genuki.org.uk "The number of inhabitants in 1801 was 78; in 1811, 76; in 1821, 105; in 1831, 103; in 1841, 92; in 1851, 84; in 1861, 108; in 1871, 90; in 1881, 113; and in 1891 it was 106." Taken from: [History, Topography and Directory of Durham, Whellan, London, 1894]
  • 1851 Census by the Cleveland Family History Society is available on FHL Film # 1519258 Item 1

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Elton on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2013.
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Durham) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk