To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Elston, Nottinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Elston, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.

Elston, Nottinghamshire
Elston+ All+Saints Nottinghamshire.jpg
Elston+ All+Saints Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Newark
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Southwell
Registration District Southwell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1572
Bishop's Transcripts: 1603
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newark
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

ELSTON (All Saints),a parish, in the union of Southwell, S. division of the wapentake of Newark and of the county of Nottingham, 5½ miles (S. W. by S.) from Newark; containing 259 inhabitants. There are places of worship for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists.[1]

Additional information:

Elston All Saints is an Ancient Parish

The parish Church of All Saints which was restored and rebuilt in 1856 has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

Elston Chapel is a redundant Anglican Ancient Parish church in the village and civil Parish of Elston in the Newark and Sherwoood district of Nottinghamshire. The Chapel is now in the chare of the Churches Conservation Trust.Elston Wikipedia The chapel was declared redundant in 1976 Elston Chapel Wikipedia

The Southwell and Nottingham Church History project have researched the history of the chapel Elston Old Chapel

Elston Old Chapel has been designated as a grade I listed Building British listed building

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Elston parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Nottinghamshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC = Nottinghamshire, England, Extracted Church of England Parish Records, 1538-1837 (Ancestry) - ($)
TGEN = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Elston Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1917
1528-1929
1539-1917
ANC 1538-1837
1538-1837
1538-1837
TGEN

1538-1905


JOIN

1538-1837


BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1538-1909
IGI



FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Nottinghamshire Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Southwell Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Elston (Elveston) in GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Nottinghamshire) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk