Elling Parish, Hjørring, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark
Hjørring County
Elling

Guide to Elling, Hjørring, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.


History

(Write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Elling Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Aalborg Stift
Pastorat (chapelry) Elling-Jerup Pastorat
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Sejlstrup
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Hjørring
Herred (district) Horns
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 1
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 1
1870 – Udskrivningskred Lægd number 5/471
Gods (estate) Add here


Place Names

Bannerslund, Bannerslund Hede, Bannerslund Mark, Bannerslund Plantage, Becksgaard, Birket, Bratten, Bratten Strand,

Drengensgaarde,

Elling, Elling Hedehus, Elling Kirke, Elling Kommuneplantage, Elling Mose, Elling Aa, Elling Aagaard, Ellinggaard, Engen, Enghuset, Engsig, Engsig Bæk,

Folden, Fredborg, Frydkær,

Gammel Præstegaard, Grusbjerg, Grønstedet,

Hedegrøft, Hedegaard, Hedeledet, Heden, Himmerig, Høg, Højbjerg, Højlund, Haaber, Haabergaarde,

Jerup, Jerup Hede, Jerup Hedehuse, Jerup Strand, Jerup Aa,

Kalmer Rimmer, Kandeborg, Karlsminde, Klemmensgaarde, Klithuset, Klitten, Kragskov, Kragskov Hede, Kragskov Rev, Kragskov Aa, Kæret,

Langt-hjem, Ledet, Lerbæk, Lerbæk Huse, Lerbæk Mark, Lerbæk Skov, Lien, Lille Bangsminde, Lille Raasig, Lille Stabæk, Lillemose, Lillemosehus,

Mariendal, Mariendal Mark, Mariendal Mølle, Mariendals Mark, Mellergaard, Moesgaard, Mosen, Musbakke, Møjen, Mølgaard,

Napstjært, Napstjærthede, Napstjært Mose, Nielsminde, Nielstrup, Nielstrupgaard, Nygaard, Nørgaard, Nørre Broen, Nørre Frydkær, Nørre Skarnvad, Nørrebroen, Nørtved,

Rendborg, Rimmen, Rimmensmark, Ronten, Rugholm, Rugholm Aa, Raasig,

Sennepshave, Skarnvad, Skarnvadhus, Skeltved, Skoven, Skramgaard, Skræppenhøj, Slottet, Snedkergaarde, Sorthøj, Sortkær, Sortkær Hede, Stabæk, Stabækhus, Store Bangsminde, Store Stabæk, Strandby, Strandby Hede, Strandby Klit, Strandby Rev, Strandbylund, Strandgaard, Strandhytten, Sydsighave, Sysselhaven, Sønder Kragskov, Sønder Skarnvad, Søndergaard,

Thomasminde, Tolshave, Tolshave Mose, Tolshavemose, Trineng,

Varmeløs, Vejen, Vester Holmen, Vester Knasborg, Vester Sortkær, Vestergaard, Vestermark, Videslet, Vindbæk, Vindvad, Vintergaard, Vintersborg,

Øster Fredborg, Øster Holmen, Øster Kragskov,

Aaen, Aagaard, Aastederne,

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes

Hjørring amt: Flade, Frederikshavn, Hirsholmene, Mosbjerg, Råbjerg, Tolne, Åsted

Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Hjørring Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.

Click on "Places within Denmark, Hjørring" and then select your parish.


References

- Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase." <http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/>, Dec 2011.

- Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4th ed. Vol. 5, Hjørring, Thisted, Aalborg, Viborg og Randers Amter. København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1901.