Elko County, Nevada Genealogy
Guide to Elko County, Nevada ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 County Information
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Bible Records
- 2.2 Biographies
- 2.3 Business, Commerce, and Occupations
- 2.4 Cemeteries
- 2.5 Census Records
- 2.6 Church Records
- 2.7 Court Records
- 2.8 Directories
- 2.9 Emigration and Immigration
- 2.10 Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
- 2.11 Funeral Homes
- 2.12 Genealogies
- 2.13 Guardianship
- 2.14 Land and Property Records
- 2.15 Local Histories
- 2.16 Maps and Gazetteers
- 2.17 Migration
- 2.18 Military Records
- 2.19 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 2.20 Newspapers
- 2.21 Obituaries
- 2.22 Other Records
- 2.23 Periodicals
- 2.24 Probate Records
- 2.25 School Records
- 2.26 Tax Records
- 2.27 Vital Records
- 3 Research Facilities
- 4 Societies
- 5 Websites
- 6 Research Guides
- 7 References
Elko County Courthouse
571 Idaho Street, #204
Elko, NV 89801-3787
Elko County Website
County Clerk has marriage applications, divorce, probate and court records from 1876.
County Recorder has birth, death, burial and land records.
Elko County, Nevada Record Dates
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
- Parent County: created 5 March 1869 from St. Mary's
- County seat: Elko 
- Interactive Formation Boundary Map of Nevada - shows boundary changes for Nevada Counties
- Nevada Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Business, Commerce, and Occupations
The following web site has additional information on Elko county cemeteries.
- Interment.net Nevada cemetery records by county.
The first enumeration for Nevada before it was a state in 1864, was in the 1850 Census in both New Mexico and Utah Territories, but the area had not been divided into counties. Those living there may be in the Utah 1851 Census. For 1860, Nevada was again enumerated in New Mexico and Utah Territories.  A partial state census exists for Nevada in 1862 and 1863 and a full state census exists for 1875.  See links listed below.
State and Territory Census Records
- 1850 United States Census, 1850 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images; Nevada was included in both the 1850 New Mexico and Utah Territory Censuses.
- 1860 United States Census, 1860 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images; Nevada was included in both the 1860 New Mexico and Utah Territory Censuses.
- 1860 Nevada, Compiled Census Index, 1860-1910 at Ancestry ($), index
- 1862-1863 1862-1863 Nevada Territory Tax List - Index
- 1875 Nevada State Census, 1875 at Ancestry.com ($), index
Federal Census Records
Federal Censuses were taken for the state of Nevada starting in 1870. Although, those living in south-eastern Nevada in 1870 may be enumerated in Utah or Arizona because of disputed boundaries with Nevada. For links to Federal Census indexes, see Nevada Census.
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Nevada Church Records.
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Metropolis – There is no ward or branch in Metropolis. Contact the Wells ward.
- Montello – There is no Ward or Branch in Montello. Contact the Wells Ward.
- Ruby Valley
- Wells - Located at 951 Lake Ave, Wells, NV 89835 (not a mailing address). Historical records are not kept at this location, nor does the local ward bishop have access to records of deceased individuals. Church records are usually found in the towns rather than on the county level. Search the FamilySearch Catalog - Place Search for the appropriate town in Elko County.
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
Land and Property Records
The county recorder's office keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.
In the FamilySearch Catalog, land records for Nevada are listed in the Place Search under: NEVADA, Elko – LAND AND PROPERTY
- Land Patent Search, index to federal patents and homesteads on the Bureau of Land Management website, some images available.
- 1796-1907 U.S. General Land Office Records, 1796-1907 at Ancestry - index, info taken from Bureau of Land Management website.
- 1863-1908 U.S. Homestead Records 1863-1908 at Ancestry.com ($), index and images
For more information see Nevada Land and Property
County histories may include biographies of early settlers and residents, church and school information, and local military regiments at the time of publication.
- Elko County and Its Vast Mineral Wealth. c1998. By the Elko Chamber of Commerce. Salt Lake City, Utah : Genealogical Society of Utah. At various libraries(WorldCat).
- Midas, Nevada. By Alan H. Patera. Journal Article: Western places : a chronicle of western settlement - v. 1 (1992) - v. 1, no. 1 (Feb. 1992). FamilySearch Catalog.
- Old Heart of Nevada: Ghost Towns and Mining Camps of Elko County. c1998. By Shawn R. Hall. Reno, Nevada : University of Nevada Press. At various libraries(WorldCat).
- This Land Was Ours: An In-Depth Study of a Frontier Community. c1973. By Edna B. Patterson. Springville, Utah : Art City Pub. At various libraries(WorldCat).
- Thomas Wellington Dove - Mining Engineer, and Tuscarora Revisited. c1998. By Charles Beardsley. Salt Lake City, Utah : Genealogical Society of Utah. At various libraries(WorldCat).
- Together In My Name: A Centennial Tribute to the Little Church of the Crossroads, Lamoille, Nevada. c1990. By Linda E. Stapley. Elko, Nevada : Linda E. Stapley. At various libraries(WorldCat).
- Utah People in the Nevada Desert: Homestead and Community on a Twentieth Century Farmers' Frontier. c1994. By Marshall E. Bowen. Logan, Utah : Utah State University Press. At various libraries(WorldCat).
Online County Histories
- The History of Development of Elko County. c1910. By Lulu Belle Hurley. Lake Grove, Reno, Nevada : n.p. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online; At various libraries(WorldCat).
- History of Elko General Hospital : The Beginning and the End. By Howard Hickson. Journal Article: Northeastern Nevada Historical Society quarterly - 2007 - v. 2007, no. 1 (2007). Online at: FamilySearch Books Online.
- Hospital History. By George Manilla. Journal Article: Northeastern Nevada Historical Society quarterly - 2007 - v. 2007, no. 1 (2007). Online at: FamilySearch Books Online.
- Nevada Guide to Genealogical Records. c1998. By Diane E Greene. Baltimore, Md. : Reprinted for Clearfield Co. by Genealogical Pub. Co. Online at: Google Books; At various libraries(WorldCat).
- Post-World War II Surgery in Elko. By Hugh S. Collett. Journal Article: Northeastern Nevada Historical Society quarterly - 2007 - v. 2007, no. 1 (2007). Online at: FamilySearch Books Online.
- Reminiscences of Elko General Hospital. By Caesar Salicchi. Journal Article: Northeastern Nevada Historical Society quarterly - 2007 - v. 2007, no. 1 (2007). Online at: FamilySearch Books Online.
Google Books has additional books about the history and people in Elko County, Nevada. Try various search terms, including the names of people. Books designated with "Full view" can be read online.
Maps and Gazetteers
The Elko County on-line Public Record index starts in 1984. Filed maps, 1869 to present, can be searched by section, township and range or document number and can be viewed and printed.
For historical maps,search the following free sites:
- Interactive Formation Boundary Map of Nevada - shows boundary changes for Nevada Counties
- Historical Maps and Atlases of Nevada - maps and atlases of Nevada
- Historical Maps of Nevada
- David Rumsey Collection for Nevada
- Perry-Castaneda Map Collection for Nevada
Early migration routes to and from Elko County, Nevada Genealogy for emigrant settlers included:
- California Trail 1846 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California
- Central Pacific Railroad since 1869 from Ogden, Utah to Sacramento, California
- 1861-1865 Nevada, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1863-1866 Nevada Civil War Volunteers, 1863-1866 ($) at Ancestry — index
World War I
World War II
- Nevada Military Killed in Action in Korea
- U.S. Military Fatal Casualties of the Korean War for Nevada
- Nevada Military Killed in Action in Vietnam
- The Vietnam Veterans Memorial - Nevada
- Vietnam Conflict Casualty Lists - Nevada
For further information see Nevada Military Records.
Naturalization and Citizenship
For more information, see Nevada Newspapers.
- GenealogyBank ($), contains images of Nevada newspapers
- Newspaper Archive ($), contains images of Nevada newspapers
- Chronicling America, contains images of some Nevada newspapers; searching tips
- Elephind, search engine that retrieves newspaper images from other free newspaper websites
Nevada Newspaper Catalogs
- U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper
Many of the Elko County newspapers can be found on microfilm at the Elko County library in their entirety. The Elko library has microfilms of many different newspapers. Obituaries have been extracted from many of the Elko County newspapers. These obituaries have also been collected and put together on microfilm. These obituary collections can be accessed at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, on microfilm numbers 1598453 and 1598454. The extracted obituaries are pulled from the following locations: Jackpot, Jarbridge, Metropolis, Montello, Owyhee, Tuscarora, and Wells, all of Elko County. Any other obituary not found in these microfilms will have to be looked for in the microfilms held by the Elko County Library.
Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Nevada Probate Records for additional information.
Nevada tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records. Most tax records can be obtained from the county treasurer or assessor. For more information, see the wiki page Nevada Taxation. The Family History Library does not have copies of Nevada tax records (as of June 2013).
A copy or an extract of most Nevada original records can be purchased from the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Nevada Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.
- 1871-1992 Nevada County Birth and Death Records, 1871-1992 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1975-2012 Nevada Birth Index 1975-2012 at Ancestry ($)
- 1809-2011 Western States Marriage Index, 1809-2011 - Index, incomplete, list of counties included
- 1862-1992 Nevada County Marriages, 1862-1993 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1956-2005 Nevada Marriage Index 1956-2005 at Ancestry ($)
- 1809 - 2011 Western States Marriage Index, 1809-2011 - Index, incomplete, list of counties included
- 1956 - 2005 Nevada Marriage Index 1956-2005 at Ancestry ($)
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- Elko Nevada East Family History Center
- Elko Nevada West Family History Center
- Wells Nevada Family History Center
- Carlin Branch Library
811 Main ST
Carlin, NV 89822
Phone: 775 754-6766
- Elko County Library
720 Court St
Elko, NV 89801
- Tuscarora Library
55 Weed St
Tuscarora, NV 89834
- Elko Genealogical Society
3001 North Fifth Street
Elko, NV 89801
- Northeastern Nevada Genealogical Society
1515 Idaho St.
Elko, NV 89801
- Western Shoshone Historical Society
1545 Silver Eagle
Elko, NV 89801-5021
- Nevada State Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 20666
Reno, NV 89515-0666
- Nevada Historical Society
1650 North Virginia Street
Reno, NV 89503
- Tri-State Genealogical Society
For Arizona, California, Nevada
PO Box 21902
Bullhead City, AZ 86439
- Elko County NVGenWeb. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Nevada Genealogy Network
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
- Genealogy Trails History Group, “Elko County, Nevada Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/nev/elko/ accessed 3/27/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Elko County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elko_County,_Nevada 3/27/2017.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Elko County, Oregon page 442, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Elko County, Nevada. Page 442. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 428.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Elko County, Nevada," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elko_County%2C_Nevada accessed 13 March 2017.
- William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 211.
- ’'Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 437. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ‘’Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources,’’ 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 2004), 422. Free online version; FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004; WorldCat entry.
- William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 212.
- National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 2 August 2011).
- Wikipedia contributors, "First Transcontinental Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/First_Transcontinental_Railroad (accessed 2 August 2011).