El Alto, Catamarca, Argentina Genealogy
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Guide to Department of El Alto ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, church records, parish registers, and civil registration.
History[edit | edit source]
- The first Spanish settlements in the area were registered in 1552 in Tavigasta (today El Alto) and Alikili (today Alijilán, department of Santa Rosa).
- In the year of 1748, the Curato de Maquijata was divided into two, one called "Benefit of the Concepción de la Sierra de Guayamba" (also called in the same document "Concepción del Alto" and then, "Curato de la Concepción del Alto") while the other section was simply called" Curato de Ancaste." El Alto began to exist formally since then.
- In 1878 the department of Santa Rosa of territories that previously belonged to El Alto was created.
- The department of El Alto has a population of approximately 4,000 people. 
Parish Records[edit | edit source]
- There are no records for the department of El Alto.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- Primer Censo Nacional, 1869 : Alto (Departamento), Catamarca - Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
- 2º Censo Nacional, 1895 : El Alto (Departamento), Catamarca - Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- Cementerio Iloga
Municipalities[edit | edit source]
- El Alto
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia Collaborators, "Departamento El Alto," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Departamento_El_Alto. Visited October 23, 2017.