Eidanger Parish, Telemark, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Eidanger, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Eidanger Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Bratsberg
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1919: Bratsberg
Fylke 1919-Present Telemark
Region add here
Prestegjeld Eidanger
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Eidanger
Fogderi Bamle
Sorenskriveri Bamle
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1664-1666 Civil Census: This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It covered Eidanger clerical district and is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

  • 1664-1666 Clerical Census: This census was taken by the local parish priests. Eidanger clerical district included Brevik, and Siljan (Slemdal) parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library on Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

  • 1725 Sjeleregister: A 1725 sjeleregister for Eidanger exists and is on microfilm at the Family History Library on Film 1694685 Item 2

  • 1729: A special 1729 census exists for Porsgrunn clerical district. The east side of Porsgrunn used to belong to Eidanger, and the west side of Porsgrunn to Solum until 1763 when Porsgrunn became its own clerical district. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

  • 1782: A special 1782 census for Eidanger parish exists and used to be available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) but was removed when the website was changed. When they re-add it, we will provide a link here.


  • 1865: The 1865 census for Eidanger clerical district is on microfilm at the Family History Library Family History Library in Salt Lake City. A searchable database is online at Digitalarkivet (Digial Archives).



  • 1900: The 1900 census for Eidanger clerical district is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. A searchable database is online at Digitalarkivet (Archive Digital).

  • 1910: The 1910 census for Eidanger is available in a searchable database online at at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Digital images available for Eidanger bygdebok

List of farms

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

14 Aaklungen 64 Aas nordre 25 Aasætret 25 Auen

74 Bakke 23 Bassebu 36 Berg 1 Bjerkevold 27 Bjønnes 45 Bjørketvet 32 Bjørkøen 46 Bjørntvet 69 Brøndløkken 13 Buer 22 Bukkøen

16 Dalen 76 Dalen 1 Døviken 42 Døviken 1 Døvikrydningen

56 Fjæra 49 Flaatten 7 Flogstad

48 Gata 55 Gjeitkleven 66 Gravastranden 65 Grave nordre 22 Grinden 52 Grønli 2 Grønsholt 4 Gudsfred 55 Gunnekleven

25 Haaøen 22 Halvarp 1 Hasler 5 Haugen 14 Haukelien 4 Hegna 69 Heistad 30 Hestholmen 73 Hitterød 8 Holtet 52 Hovet 52 Hovholt 61 Hvalen 56 Hærøen

73 Jordsmyr 47 Jønholt med

63 Kaasa 29 Karisholmen 27 Kjelkevik 16 Kjendalen 3 Kjølsrød med Bakkeløkken 73 Kjørholt 71 Klep 54 Kleven 54 Klevstranden 1 Kokkersvold 33 Kula 3 Kvestad

12 Labelot 20 Langangen 1 Lanner 35 Lerstang 14 Lien 1 Lillegaarden 68 Lunde nedre 4 Lunde nordre 5 Lunde søndre 20 Lønnebakke og Solberg 60 Løvsjø 35 Løvøen

59 Mule 28 Myren 46 Myrene

26 Narholmen 1 Nauser 10 Nordal nordre 15 Nordalsætret 27 Næpedalen 16 Næperydningen 21 Nøklegaard

40 Oksum 33 Oksøen 16 Ovnen

50 Pasa 39 Pladsen 75 Pladsen 43 Præstegaarden

34 Ramberg 3 Rydningen 16 Rydningen 36 Rydningen 61 Rydningen 18 Rydningene 50 Rød 62 Rød søndre 38 Rødsætret 39 Røra 38 Rørarød

24 Sagen 65 Saltboden 33 Sandøen 45 Sanna 31 Siktesøen 9 Siljan 70 Skavraaker 77 Skjegge 64 Skjelbugten 60 Skjelsviken 57 Skrapekleven 44 Slettene 1 Slevolden 35 Smedviken 13 Smøkkerød 17 Solli 72 Solverød 27 Solvik 37 Stamland 64 Stranden 53 Stridskleven 41 Stulen 27 Størsmyr 19 Sundsaasen

39 Tangen 56 Tangen 75 Tangen 46 Tolleskogen 1 Traaholt 36 Troldalen 50 Tveitan nordre

44 Valler 58 Versviken 18 Viersdalen 39 Vissevaaka

4 Ødegaarden 12 Ødegaarden 63 Ødegaarden 20 Ønna 35 Ørjeviken 58 Ørstvet 58 Ørstvetøen 75 Ørviken 43 Øvall 6 Øveraasen

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Bamble judicial district
*1665-1869 Family History Library
*1665-1852 Digitalarkivet

Telemark and Bamble deanery
*1696-1806 Family History Library
*1696-1806 Digitalarkivet

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names