Egginton, Bedfordshire Genealogy
Guide to Egginton, Bedfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Leighton Buzzard|
|Registration District||Leighton Buzzard|
|Parish registers: 1807; For more records see Leighton Buzzard|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1604|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - Lincoln; Post 1845 - Ely|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Leighton Buzzard|
|Location of Archive|
|Bedfordshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
EGGINGTON, is a chapelry, in the parish and union of Leighton-Buzzard, the hundred of Manshead, and county of Bedford. It is 2 miles E from Leighton-Buzzard. There are places of worship for Independents and Primitive Methodists. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Egginton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Egginton Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs||1813-1981,1866-1982||1813-1981,1866-1982||1813-1981,1866-1982|
|FS Catalog BTs||1611-1875||1611-1875||1611-1875|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Bedfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
- Leighton Buzzard
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 150-154. Date accessed: 29 August 2013..