Egersund Parish, Rogaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Noway
Rogaland County
Egersund

Guide to Egersund, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Church Records

Egersund church.jpg
Church records begin in 1664. They contain parish records from the parishes Ogna and Egersund (Eigersund) with landsognet and ladestedet.

Digitized images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.

Eigersund: 1664-1717, 1720-1775, 1808-1815, 1850, 1888-1900, 1919-1939

Eigersund / Eigersund: 1776-1808, 1815-1827, 1855-1881, 1892-1905

Eigersund / Eigersund, Ogna: 1866-1878

Eigersund / Ladestedet: 1879-1930

Eigersund / Landsoknet: 1879-1930

Census Records

  • 1664-1666 Census Fogd og sorenskrivers manntall 1664-1666, Jæderen og Dalene (JÆREN OG DALANE) fogderi b. 11 Egersund skibrede Valde skibrede.

This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library Film 122979 Item 2. Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet Jæren og Dalane fogderi, Manntall 11, 1664

A database is online at Digitalarkivet Manntall 1663-66 for Stavanger amt II.

  • 1855 Census Egersund clerical district included Ogna parish. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library 1283379 Item 8. It also includes an extraction of the births, deaths, and marriage from the church records for the years 1856 to 1875 for Ogna parish.
  • 1885 Census Egersund clerical district included Ogna parish. It is on printed format listed four different ways: 1) First name 2) Patronymic 3) Last name (farm name) 4) Order of original census. It is at the Family History Library 948.31/E1 X29e. A database is online at Digitalarkivet 1885-teljinga for 1101 Egersund.

Court Records

The court records contain reports of civil and criminal actions, including the allodial rights, a system of ownership by which an owner has all rights associated with possessing a property. You will find names, dates, places, and relationships in these records. The records have no indexes, and therefore require time to study. They are excellent sources for genealogical research and at times you can find entire families through several generations. These records must be used in conjunction with the mortgage records, probate records, or other records.

Court records at the Family History Library, 1613-1701

These records are for Jæren and Dalane judicial districts which include these places: Hetland (Frue), Høyland, Klepp, Time (Lye), Håland, Ogna, Sandnes, Helleland, Egersund, Lund, Sokndal, Heskestad, , Bjerkreim, Randaberg, Sola, Madla, Varhaug, Nærbø, and Gjestal in Rogaland county.

Land Records

Probate Records

For 1666-1822 the probates are found in Jæren og Dalane judicial district.
For 1823-1882 they are found in Dalane judicial district.
The clerical probates for 1729-1807 are found in Dalane deanery.

Availability

Jæren og Dalane judicial district
*1666-1822 Family History Library
*1667-1867 Digitalarkivet
*1666-1815 Probate card indexes sorted by farm name Digitalarkivet

Dalane judicial district
*1823-1882 Family History Library
*1867-1882 Digitalarkivet.

Dalane deanery
*1729-1807 Clerical probate records Family History Library
*1729-1807 Digitalarkivet.

Egersund police station
*1859-1993 Death protocol Digitalarkivet

Farm Books

Farm Names

28 Aamdal, 13 Aarstad, 19 Aase, 47 Asperøen, 11 Auglend, 21 Auglend

2 Bjaaen, 56 Buerskog

8 Dognavolden, 18 Dyrnes, 60 Dægen,

47 Egre, 47 Eide, 51 Eige lille, 45 Eigebakken

50 Fotland, 8 Fuglodden

54 Gjermestad, 23 Grastveid, 27 Grødeim, 8 Grønehaugen

17 Haaland, 46 Hafsøen, 18 Halland, 8 Halsen, 30 Hegdal, 57 Heigrestad, 58 Helland, 33 Helleren, 60 Helvig, 13 Hesnes, 59 Hesthammeren, 45 Holand, 7 Horten, 37 Horve, 8 Hovland

44 Kjelland, 13 Kjellebakken, 29 Koldal, 8 Krossevolden, 60 Kvernebakken, 31 Kydland

45 Lagaard, 47 Launesodden, 36 Laupstad, 7 Leidland, 32 Lien, 13 Lygrebakken, 24 Lædre, 10 Løining

60 Marbotnen, 60 Marren, 2 Midbrød, 40 Mjølhus, 25 Mong, 5 Myglebostad

15 Neset, 59 Netland, 35 Nodland i Heien, 20 Nodland paa Neset, 55 Næveland

12 Præstegaarden, 16 Puntevold

26 Rodvelt

3 Segleim, 14 Skaare, 4 Skadberg, 6 Skjelbrei, 60 Skjerpingen, 45 Slettebø, 41 Sletteid, 45 Solkroen, 22 Stapnes, 13 Storevolden og Løtomten, 8 Sundstø, 21 Svaanes, 43 Svinland, 9 Sæstad,

49 Tengs, 48 Tengsereid, 38 Tjervall, 60 Trossevigen, 13 Trættevolden

60 Vasvigen, 39 Veshovde, 34 Vind-Birkeland

53 Yksnebø, 1 Ystebrød

42 Øigrei

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names