To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Edmonton Weld Chapel

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Edmonton Weld Chapel

Guide to Edmonton Weld Chapel, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chapel History[edit | edit source]

In the early years of the 17th century, Southgate was a hamlet'.There was also a large estate with a house called “Arnolds” which, in 1610, Sir John and Lady Weld bought. Southgate was one of the four wards in theparish'of All Saints, Edmonton.

Sir John, therefore, sought a faculty from the bishop to build achapel at his expense and in his grounds. This was originally intended for the use of Sir John, his family and servants but it became the place of worship for the people of Southgate. It was a Chapel of Ease to All Saints.

In 1615 the building of the Weld Chapel began. It was a wooden structure, enlarged and altered several times to accommodate the growing population of Southgate and it lasted until 1862 by which time there were several imposing houses and estates in the area owned by wealthy merchants: the Walkers, the Taylors, and the earlier Sir John Weld were all brewers. It was felt that a larger more imposing church would be more suitable for such a population. So, in February 1860. a faculty was obtained from the Bishop of London to build a new church just eastward of the Weld Chapel.[1]

Edmonton Weld Chapel in Southgate was built by about 1616, in or near The Green.

Due to population increases,a larger chapel was built by around 1869, called Christ Church, which took the place of Weld Chapel--which see under "Edmonton". Church registers exist for this old chapel, commencing from 1695 to 1850.
"The Weld Chapel," has a web site with an excellent historical perspective.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Edmonton Weld Chapel parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Middlesex, Westminster, Parish Registers, 1538-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Middlesex Baptisms (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP London = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Edmonton Weld Chapel Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1912
1538-1912
1538-1912
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1543-1876




FMP London

1502-1871
1399-1992
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1917
1754-1932
1813-2003
ANC Marr

1597-1921


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Edmonton on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. .Google.com Christ Church Southgate. Adapted. Date accessed: 4 December 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk