To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Edgefield County, South Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Edgefield County, South Carolina Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy court records, deeds, maps, immigration, maps, military records, newspapers, obituaries, plantations, probate records, slaves, local archives, libraries, museums, churches, cemeteries, and Civil War records.


{{{link}}}


Edgefield County, South Carolina
Map
Map of South Carolina highlighting Edgefield County
Location in the state of South Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting South Carolina
Location of South Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1785
County Seat Edgefield
Courthouse


County Information[edit | edit source]


Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for the South Carolina State Library's information on the county's history suggests that the name "is usually described as 'fanciful.'" There is a village named Edgefield in Norfolk, England. The County is located in the west-central area of the state.[1]

DorcheEdgefield ter County, South Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1915 1911 1915 1785 1786 1790
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1915. General compliance by 1918.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

EdgefieldSC.jpg


Clerk of Court
Court and Land records
on-line documents and index.

Probate Court
Probate and marriage records

Contact:
Edgefield County, South Carolina
124 Courthouse Square
Edgefield, SC 29824
Phone: 803-637-4000
Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday - Friday

Historical Facts[edit | edit source]

Edgefield County is said to have been given it's name because it lies on the edge of the Savannah River and also on the edge of Indian Lands (at the time) and South Carolina.[3] During the eighteenth century, a group of German Palatines settled what was then known as Londonborough Township, which is now a part of Edgefield County. Learn more about the history of Edgefield County from the South Carolina State Library or from Carolana.com.

Parent County/Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1785 - Thirty-three counties were created within existing South Carolina Districts. Edgefield County was created within Ninety-Six District.
  • 1800 - Edgefield re-christened a district and Ninety-Six District was abolished.
  • 1868 - Edgefield and all other districts became counties.
  • 10 March 1871: Aiken created from Barnwell, Edgefield, Lexington, and Orangeburg counties.
  • 1896 - Saluda was created from Edgefield County.
  • 1897 - Greenwood was created from Abbeville and Edgefield Counties.
  • 1898 - Greenwood gained from Abbeville and Edgefield Counties.
  • 1916 - McCormick was created from Abbeville, Greenwood, and Edgefield Counties.
  • 1921 - McCormick exchanged with Edgefield County.

For more information as well as maps of Edgefield County through time, see:

County Seat[edit | edit source]

The county seat of Edgefield County is Edgefield.

County Pronunciation[edit | edit source]

Hear it spoken.[4]

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

For further information (and links) on these populated places, please go to Populated Places, Edgefield County, South Carolina

Resources[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

African Americans[edit | edit source]

  • Burton, Vernon. "Race and Reconstruction: Edgefield County, South Carolina," Journal of Social History, Vol. 12, No. 1 (Autumn, 1978), pp. 31-56. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • Edgefield County, S.C. African American Cemeteries: With Additional Church History Documentation; Contains Cemetery Surveys, with Historical Information on Each Church. Edgefield, S.C.: Old Edgefield District Genealogical Society, 2002. FHL Collection
  • Heinegg, Paul. "'Other Free' Heads of Household in the 1790 South Carolina Census, by County," Free African Americans.com. Includes free blacks in Edgefield County.
  • Taylor, Tonya A. Browder. Free Persons of Color, Edgefield District, South Carolina, from the Federal Census Records, 1790-1860: With Additional Documentation from Various Georgia Counties, 1819-1820. Johnston, S.C.: Old Edgefield Pub. Co., 2003. FHL Collection

Known plantations South Carolina Plantations:

  • Cane Brake - Saluda
  • Cedar Grove - Edgefield
  • Cedarfield - Edgefield
  • Darby
  • Edgewood - Edgefield
  • Evergreen
  • Gomillion
  • Marshfield - Trenton
  • Marshland
  • Oakley
  • Oakley Park - Edgefield
  • Piney Woods
  • Roger's - Edgefield
  • Stately Oaks
  • Vann - also called Piney Woods
  • Weaver Mansion - also called Piney Woods

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
SCGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
SCGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

Census[edit | edit source]

Federal

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 13,289
1800 18,130 36.4%
1810 23,160 27.7%
1820 25,119 8.5%
1830 30,509 21.5%
1840 32,852 7.7%
1850 39,262 19.5%
1860 39,887 1.6%
1870 42,486 6.5%
1880 45,844 7.9%
1890 49,269 7.5%
1900 24,478 −50.3%
1910 28,281 15.5%
1920 23,928 −15.4%
1930 19,326 −19.2%
1940 17,894 −7.4%
1950 16,591 −7.3%
1960 15,735 −5.2%
1970 15,692 −0.3%
1980 17,528 11.7%
1990 18,375 4.8%
2000 24,595 33.9%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.

1790, 1800, 1810, 1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Edgefield County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see South Carolina Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.

See South Carolina Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

See Edgefield County, SC census assignments, including links to transcribed files The USGenWeb Census Project®

1790[edit | edit source]
  • McClendon, Carlee T. The First Federal Census, 1790, the Second Federal Census, 1800, Edgefield County, South Carolina. 1959. FHL Collection
1800[edit | edit source]
  • McClendon, Carlee T. The First Federal Census, 1790, the Second Federal Census, 1800, Edgefield County, South Carolina. 1959. FHL Collection
1820[edit | edit source]
  • Jarrell, Lawrence E. 1820 Edgefield District, South Carolina Census. High Point, N.C.: Alligator Creek Genealogy Publications, 1998. FHL Collection
1820 Manufactures[edit | edit source]

The original manufactures schedules for South Carolina are kept at the NARA, Washington, D.C. FHL copies: FHL Collection.

Published abstract:

  • National Archives. Indexes to Manufactures Census of 1820. 1920; reprint, Knightstown, Ind.: Bookmark, 1977. FHL Collection; digital version at Lineages. [Includes this county.]
1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners[edit | edit source]
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C.: Blair and Rives, 1841. FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840; FHL Collection 2321; digital version at Google Books. [See South Carolina, Edgefield District on page 142.]
1850[edit | edit source]
  • Buff, L.H. The Edgefield District (SC) 1850 Census. Lexington, S.C.: Lexington Genealogical Association, 2000. FHL Collection
1860[edit | edit source]
  • McKinney, Margaret Vaughan. Edgefield County, South Carolina 1860 Census. Augusta, Ga.: Augusta Genealogical Society, n.d. 975.737 X2m 1860
1890[edit | edit source]

For 1890, see: [United States Census 1890].

Church History and Records[edit | edit source]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

DNA[edit | edit source]

DNA Double Helix.png
DNA has been collected from men claiming descent from the following Edgefield County residents. FamilySearch has not independently verified the lineages of those tested.

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

  • Ridge Citizen. Johnston, S.C. Area Family History. Johnston, S.C.: Ridge Citizen, 1967?. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  • Rowland, Arthur Ray. Neighbors of North Augusta and Its Geographical Ancestors including Hamburg Township and Schultz Township in Edgefield County and Aiken County, South Carolina : from U.S. census records, 1850-1900. North Augusta, S.C.: RR Books, 2006. FHL 975.7 X22r


  • [Abney] Girvin, Clara Henderson. Abney Genealogical Data. MSS., National Library D.A.R. Microfilmed 1971: FHL Collection
  • [Barronton] Czarny, Linda Saul. Barrington. Denver, Colo.: L.S. Czarny, 199-. FHL Collection
  • [Berry] Dowling, Bobbie Berry. John Jackson Berry from Edgefield, South Carolina to Cherokee County, Texas. Jacksonville, Texas: Bobbie Berry Dowling, 1983. FHL 929.273 B459do
  • [Black] Black, Edward Davis and Olive Clarise Sanders Cloud. The Grandsa Black Genealogy. Atlanta, Ga.: E.D. Black, 1982. FHL Collection
  • [Blackburn] Moon, Norma Davidson McLemore. Genealogy of the Family History of Elias Blackburn-Jonathan Nicholas-Matthew McLemore. Bradenton, Fla.: N.D.M. Moon, 1981. FHL Collection
  • [Boatner] Craft, Roy and Alice Craft. Batner, Boatner, Bothner, Botner, Bottner, Butner: A One Name Study by the Descendants of Ludwig/Lewis and Mary (Martin) Boatner. West Haven, Utah: R. Craft, 2003. FamilySearch Books Online; FHL Collection.
  • [Bryan] Bryan, Thomas Ray and Media Research Bureau. The Name and Family of Bryan or Brian. Edgefield, S.C.: Shaffer Printing, 1970. FHL Collection
  • [Burdett] Smith, Macon A. The Cavin Family. Typescript, 2003. FHL Collection
  • [Burdett] Burdette, Benjamin L. Burdette/Burdett/Burditt Genealogy. n.p.: W.R. Burditt, 2005. FHL Collection
  • [Burt] Burt, James Claude. Records of the Burt Family, 1665-1860, York County, Virginia and Edgefield County, S. Carolina. MSS. Microfilmed 1969. FHL 496405 Item 3
  • [Burt] Broughton, Richard. Descendants of Mathew Burt. Cave City, Ariz.: R. Broughton, 199-?. FamilySearch Books Online; FHL Collection.
  • [Claxton] Norris, George W. and Claxton Family Historical Committee. Henry Claxton and Descendants, 1790-1980. Warner Robins, Ga.: Claxton Family Historical Committee, 1982. FHL Collection
  • [Claxton] Claxton, Brazle Hubert, James T. Martin, George W. Norris, and Claxton Family Historical Committee. Henry Claxton and Descendants, 1980-1990. Utica, Ky.: McDowell Publications, 1992. FHL Collection
  • [Cogburg] Raisty, Jewell Cogburn. The Family of John Cogburg (ca 1745-1810) of Edgefield District, South Carolina. Typescript, 1965. FHL 858850 Item 1
  • [Cotten] Gregory, Peggy H. Cotton Picking: A Compilation of Cotten/Cotton Families. Houston, Texas: n.p., 1973. FHL Collection
  • [Daniel] "Descendants of William Daniel" in Connie Clifton Anderson's Genealogical Collection. MSS. Microfilmed 2004. FHL Collection
  • [Day] Dotson, Carl F. and Flora Belnap Dotson. Report on the Day Family of Edgefield County, South Carolina. Typescript. Microfilmed 1976. FHL 982047 Item 16
  • [Day] Dotson, Flora B. New Information on the Day Family of Edgefield County, South Carolina. [Boise, Idaho]: F.B. Dotson, 1996. FHL 929.273 D33df
  • [Dickey] Parsons, Marjorie Dickey. Lines and Lifestyles: Dickey, Moore, Parsons, and Some Related Families. Baltimore, Md.: Gateway Press, 1988. FHL Collection
  • [Dorn] Wood, Willie Mae G. Old Families of McCormick County, South Carolina and Dorn Families of Edgefield, Greenwood and McCormick Counties. 2 vols. 1982. FHL 975.736 D2w v. 1
  • [Faulkner] Welch, Drew Glover. The Families of Russell Faulkner, Elijah Faulkner and Eligah Melvin Faulkner of Edgefield District, South Carolina. Lexington, SC: Drew Glover Welch, 2012.
  • [Flowers] Hendrix, Mary Louise Flowers. Flowers Kith and Kin: A Records of the Descendants of Thomas Flowers through Henry and Nancy Adams Flowers. Jackson, Miss.: Hendrix, 1943. FHL Collection
  • [Fudge] Tyler, Maudie Fudge. The Descendants of Jacob Fudge, Senior, 1723-1980. Memphis, Tenn.: M.F. Tyler, 1983. FHL Collection
  • [Garrett] Rumph, Thedoshia Juanita Harvey. Hattie Garrett, Born a Salve [i.e. Slave] in Charleston, S.C. Migrated to and Died Free in Edgefield, S.C. Pemberton, N.J.: T.J.H. Rumph, 1999. FHL 929.273 G192r
  • [Glover] Glover, James A. and Anna O. Glover. Glover Genealogical Record of James Glover as the First Generation was of Oxford, Granville Co., North Carolina; William Glover and Martha G. Atwood as the Second Generation were of Granville Co., North Carolina; Zachariah Glover and Elizabeth Henderson as the Third Generation were of Edgefield, South Carolina and Covington, Indiana; William Glover and Catherine Walker as the Fourth Generation were of Covington, Indiana. MSS., 1947. FHL 446606
  • [Gomillion] Gomillion Family Records. MSS. Microfilmed 1996: FHL Collection
  • [Green] Green, Carleton. The Green Family of James Edward Green and Florence Virginia Thompson. Arcadia, Calif.: C. Green, 1981. FHL Collection
  • [Greer] Rees, Ellen Greer. Greer Men and Ellen C. Greer. n.p.: E.G. Rees, 1953. {{ FHL|117134|item|Book 929.273 G852r}}
  • [Greer] Wakefield, Eliza M. and Greer Family Organization. Texas and the Greers: A Tribute to Thomas Lacy Greer. n.p.: E.M. Wakefield, 1953. FHL Collection
  • [Greer] Greer [ca. 1761-1878]. Typescript. Copy: FHL Collection
  • [Hall] Andrea, Leonardo. Hall in South Carolina Archives, 1946-1956. MSS. Microfilmed 1975. FHL Collection
  • [Hammond] Tillman, Mamie Norris and Hortense Woodson. The Hammond Family of Edgefield District. Annual Meeting, Edgefield County Historical Society, September 17, 1954. Edgefield, S.C.: Advertiser Press, 1954. FHL Collection
  • [Hicks] Lidwin, Virginia Pegues. Hicks, Pegues, and Related Families: From Records in South Carolina, North Carolina, Georgia, and Mississippi. Typescript, National Library, D.A.R. Microfilmed 1971. FHL Collection
  • [Hipp] Phelps, Dallas Leroy. Descendants of James Fincher Hipp of South Carolina, 1817-1872. Camden, S.C.: D.L. Phelps, 2006. FamilySearch Books Online; FHL Collection.
  • [Hobson] Swafford, Jeannette Lain and James Murry Lain. Descendants of May-Hobson-Lain Families. Fairfield Bay, Ark.: J.L. Swafford, 1989. FHL Collection
  • [Holley] Day, William H. and Sammie Jean Holley. A Genealogical History of the Holley Family and Waters Family. Danville, Ind.: W.H. & S.J.H. Day, 1988. FHL Collection
  • [Holley] MacDowell, Dorothy K. The Holly/Holley Family: Early Barnwell & Edgefield Districts, South Carolina. Aiken, S.C.: D.K. MacDowell, 198-?. FHL 929.273 H729m
  • [Huskey] Reagan, Donald B. Smoky Mountain Clans. 3 vols. Knoxville, Tenn.: D.B. Reagan, 1978-1983. FHL Collection. [The Huskey family is discussed in Vol. 1.]
  • [Jennings] Jennings, Thomas Ernest and Sarah Hattie Hazel Delgado. Jennings, the Descendants and Ancestors of Robert B. Jennings, Senior, and His Wife, Tabitha (Lockhart) Jennings: Robert B. Jennings, Senior, Born 1763, Prince Edward County, Virginia, Died After 16 November 1815, Will Probated March 1816, Edgefield, District, South Carolina: Tabitha (Lockhart) Jennings, Born 31 July 1778, Lincoln County, Georgia, Died 8 July 1847, Chickasaw Co., Miss. Arlington, Texas: T.E. Jennings, 1988. FHL 929.273 J447d
  • [Jennings] Konde, Alice and Paul M. Crocker. Some Descendants of John Jennings, ca. 1740/45-ca. 1819, of Fairfield and Edgefield Districts, South Carolina. Port St. Lucie, Fla.: A. Konde, 1989. FHL 929.273 J441k
  • [Jones] Elliott, Rita Jones. The John Jones Family Genealogy Including Lineages of Benson, Chandler, Dunbar, Jay, Lester, Miles, Sibley. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: R.J. Elliott, 1975. FHL Collection
  • [Jones] Jones, Montez Ellen DeMonia. The Jones - Reese and Allied Families. Cullman, Ala.: Gregath, 1982. FamilySearch Books Online; FHL Collection.
  • [Jones] Johnson, Inez Jones. Keeping Up with the Joneses, a Family History and Genealogy: The Elisha & Susannah Jones Family of West Milton, Ohio. Typescript, Lilly Library, Earlham College, Richmond, Ind. Microfilmed 1988: FHL Collection
  • [Jones] Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. Descendants of Robert D. Jones of Edgefield Co., S.C. Camden, S.C.: D.L. Phelps, 2000. FHL 929.273 J71pdL
  • [Jones] Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. Descendants of William A. Jones of Edgefield and Saluda County, S.C. 2003. FHL 1573699 Item 109
  • [Langford] Langford, George Shealy. Langfords in America: Sketches on Early Arrivals and Migrations: Genealogical Recording on Descendants from Early Saluda River, South Carolina Families (Lexington, Newberry, Saluda and Old Edgefield Counties), 1773-1975: Some Related Families [of] Holley, Waters, Shealy, Timms, Robertson. College Park, Md.: Langford, 1977. FHL 929.273 L263a
  • [Langford] Langford, George Shealy. Sketches About Langfords, 1632-1980. Book 2. College Park, Md.: G.S. Langford, 1981. FHL Collection
  • [Lanham] Jackson, Betty Miller Wise. The Lanham Family. Johnston, S.C.: Ridge Citizen, 1978. FHL Collection
  • [Lanham] Lanham, William Joseph. Wonderful Pilgrimage: A Lanham Family History and Personal Journey. Clemson, S.C.: W.J. Lanham, 1995. FHL Collection
  • [Lester] Owen, Thomas McAdory. "Bryant Lester, of Lunenburg Co., Va., and His Descendants," Southern History Association. Its Publications, Vol. 1 (1897):127-137. Digitized by Internet Archive - free. Available in book form at Virginia Historical Society.
  • [LeSueur] Allen, Cameron. "David LeSueur (1703/04-1771/72) of Manakin Town, Virginia: An Outline of the First Three Generations of His Descendants, As Constructed from the Tax Records of the 'Burned' County of Buckingham," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 43, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1999):3-22; Vol. 43, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1999):110-125; Vol. 43, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1999):178-189; Vol. 43, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1999):256-269. Available at FHL Collection; digital version at American Ancestors ($).
  • [Long] Evans, Eytive Long. A Documented History of the Long Family, Switzerland to South Carolina, 1578-1956, Including Allied Families: A Documentary Record of the Long (Lang) Family of Newberry, Edgefield, and Saluda Counties, South Carolina, Including Many Allied Families. Decatur, Ga.: Bowen Press, 1956. FHL 929.273 L85e
  • [Longstreet] Thornton, Clark Thompson. Pilgrims, Pioneers, Patriots and People of Quality: The Pedigree of General James Longstreet "the Old Warhorse". Atlanta, Ga.: Lion Publication Co., 1997. FHL Collection
  • [Lott] Reeves, Hilda Lott. Lott Family Genealogy: As Descended from Jesse Lott of Edgefield, South Carolina. Wetumpka, Ala.: H.L. Reeves, 2001. FamilySearch Books Online; FHL 6005482.
  • [Lovelace] Lovelace, David S. The Lovelace Family and Some Connections: from Edgefield, South Carolina to Baltimore, Maryland. Johnston, S.C.: Old Edgefield Pub. Co., 2003. FHL 929.273 L942Ld
  • [Lucas] Lucas, Ted S. and Clarence E. Lucas. The Lucas Family of Freestone County, Texas. Houston, Texas: T.S. Lucas, [1994?]. FHL Collection
  • [Luke] Griner, Mary Maxine Ellis. The Ellis/Luke and Allied Families. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, 2000. FHL Collection
  • [McCarty] Jackman, Etta C. McCarty and Other Southern Roots. Miami, Okla.: E. Jackman, 1989. FHL Collection
  • [McDaniel] Roberts, Harry D. McDaniel Family Research. Maribu, Calif.: H.D. Roberts, 1974.
  • [McDaniel] Roberts, Harry D. and Leonard W. Stevens. McDaniel Family Research. Swisshome, Ore.: M. Lautenschlaeger, 1980?. FHL Collection
  • [McGraw] McGraw Family Records, ca. 1745-1930. Typescript. FHL Collection
  • [Mainer] Dodd, Ella Frances Mainer and Martha Lynn Dodd Gass. John Mainer (1759-1863) of South Carolina and Georgia: His Roots and Branches. Lovelady, Texas: E.F.M. Dodd, 1989. FHL Collection
  • [Marlow] Ponder, Odalene Little. The Marlow Family. n.p.: O. Ponder, 1985. FHL Collection
  • [Mathis] Mathis, Robert Butler. The Charles Thomas Mathis Family. Edgefield, S.C.: n.p., 1969. FHL Collection
  • [May] Woodson, Hortense, John A. May and May Family Association. Charles May and His Descendants, Who Settled at Mays Cross Roads in Old Edgefield County, S.C. Edgefield, S.C.: Edgefield Advertiser Press, 1956. FHL 929.273 M451w
  • [Merchant] Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. Descendants of William Merchant. Camden, S.C.: D.L. Phelps, 2000. FHL Collection
  • [Merchant] Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. Descendants of William Merchant (1740-1809) of Edgefield County, South Carolina. Camden, S.C.: D.L. Phelps, 2006. FamilySearch Books Online; FHL 929.273 M535pdL.
  • [Merchant] Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. The Merchant-Padgett Family: of Edgefield and Saluda County, South Carolina. Camden, S.C.: D.L. Phelps, 2008. FHL 929.273 M535pda
  • [Mobley] Mobley, Johnson Bland. The Descendants of Dr. John Richard Mobley, Sr. and Lucretia Simkins with Supplements on Adams, Bland, Carwile, Cheves, Daniel, Dozier, Gomillion, Griffin, Ivey, LaGrone, Latimer, Mims-Walker, Neal-Lott, Ready, Sheppard, Simikins, Smyly, Ware-Coleman, Warren, Watson, Weaver, Wright. Columbia, S.C.: Piedmont Printmakers, 1991. FHL Collection
  • [Moseley] Talley, James Nicholas. Notes on Talley, Stuart & Moseley Families of the Southern States. Salt Lake City, Utah: M.S. West, n.d. FHL Collection
  • [Nicholson] Timpson, Roger Hill and Bettis C. Rainsford. Nicholson Family Reunion: May 2, 1998, Oakley Park, Edgefield, South Carolina. 1998. FHL 929.273 N52tr
  • [Norris] Tillman, Mamie Norris. Data on Norris and Kindred Families Honoring Mrs. Mamie Norris Tillman, President, 1956. Edgefield, S.C.: Edgefield Advertiser Press, 1956. FHL Collection; compare FHL Collection; compare FHL Collection.
  • [Ouzts] Woodson, Hortense and Ouzts Family Association. Peter Ouzts I and His Descendants. Edgefield, S.C.: Outz Family Association, 1949. FHL Collection
  • [Owensby] Cook, Jimmy Eugene. Owensby Family Genealogy. 1968. FHL Collection
  • [Padget] Boone, James R. et al. Boone Genealogical Collection. MSS. Microfilmed 1990. FHL Collection
  • [Padget] Paget, James Suddarth and Dallas LeRoy Phelps. Watson-Smith-Padgett Families of Edgefield and Saluda Counties, South Carolina. 1995. FHL 1750833 Item 19
  • [Padget] Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. Descendants of Mark Manuel Padget, Edgefield County, South Carolina. Camden, S.C.: D.L. Phelps, 1998. FHL 929.273 P133pd
  • [Padget] Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. Descendants of Job Padget, Sr. of Edgefield County, S.C. (1760-1837). Camden, S.C.: D.L. Phelps, 1999. FHL 929.273 P133pdL
  • [Padget] Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. Descendants of Job Padgett of Edgefield County, S.C. (1760-1837). Typescript. Microfilmed 2000. FHL 1425220 Item 17
  • [Padget] Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. Descendants of Mahlon Mauzon Padgett of Edgefield County, S.C. Typescript. Microfilmed 2001. FamilySearch Books Online; FHL 1145793 Item 6.
  • [Padget] Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. Descendants of Henry Padget, Sr. of Edgefield County, South Carolina (1780-1830). Camden, S.C.: D.L. Phelps, 2006. FamilySearch Books Online; FHL 929.273 P133pda.
  • [Padget] Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. The Merchant-Padgett Family: of Edgefield and Saluda County, South Carolina. Camden, S.C.: D.L. Phelps, 2008. FHL 929.273 M535pda
  • [Parkman] Scogin, William David. Parkman--Scogin Genealogy to October 27, 1957. MSS. Microfilmed 1962. FHL Collection
  • [Parkman] Smith, Omagene Parkman. Parkman Ancestry with Allied Families of Hall, Huffman, Minter, Goode of Omagene Parkman Smith. MSS. Microfilmed 1962. FHL Collection
  • [Peterson] Peterson, John. My Family. Alberni, British Columbia: J. Peterson, 1976. FHL Collection
  • [Pike] Pike, John Emory. William T. Pike, 1799-1882: South Carolina, Georgia, Alabama and Westward. Wyandotte, Okla.: Gregath, 1996. FHL Collection
  • [Pittman] Elrod, Lona McRee and Pittman Family Society. Pittman Family Record. 2 vols. Athens, Ga.: Pittman Family Society, 1976-1982. FHL Collection
  • [Pool] Hoggle, Bertha Jean Thomas Johnson. The Families of John and Dempsey (Pool) Thomas. Greensboro, Ala.: B.J. Hoggle, 2000. FHL Collection
  • [Posey] Posey, Joanna W. and Posey Family Organization of America. The Posey Family Newsletter. Orem, Utah: Posey Enterprises, 1979-1981. FHL Collection
  • [Powell] Andrea, Leonardo. Powell. Typescript, Polk County Historical Library, Bartow, Fla. Microfilmed 1975. FHL Collection
  • [Rampy] Vaughn, Michael J. The Family and Pedigree of Henry Rampy (1817-1866): South Carolina to Texas. Waco, Texas: M.J. Vaughn, 1998. FHL Collection
  • [Ramsey] Ramsey, James. Ramsey Roots and Branches. Houston, Texas: J. Ramsey, 1980. FHL Collection
  • [Richardson] Ericson, Carolyn Reeves. Josiah Richardson and Some of His Descendants. Nacogdoches, Texas: Ericson Books, 1999. FHL Collection
  • [Rush] Autrey, Norma. Family of David Rush. Troy, S.C.: Sleepy Creek, 1995. FHL Collection
  • [Rutherford] "Rutherford in Edgefield, S.C. Folder," in Leonardo Andrea's Genealogical Folders in the Leonardo Andrea Collection: Collection of the Late Leonardo Andrea. MSS. Microfilmed 1974. FHL Collection
  • [Ryan] "Capt. John Ryan of Edgefield," [Taken from Columbia Telescope, 2 November 1827] The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 2, No. 1 (Winter 1974):26. FHL Collection
  • [Simkins] Francis Butler Simkins, 1897-1966: Historian of the South. 196-?. FHL Collection
  • [Slater] Our Ancestors, Noble--Scruggs--Slater--Malone. Typescript, Clayton Library, Houston, Texas. Microfilmed 1982: FHL Collection
  • [Smith] Klemcke, Ethel Uhl and Bob P. Weed. Robert Mays Smith from South Carolina to Texas: The Long Way. Wolfe City, Texas: Henington Pub., 1988. FHL Collection
  • [Strom] Strom, Samuel T. and Martha J. Strom. The Stroms of South Carolina, 1765-1983 and Certain Allied Families. Union, S.C.: S.T. Strom Sr. & M.J. Strom, 1984. FHL item
  • [Suddath] Paget, James Suddath. Ancestors and Descendants of Hancock D. Suddath and Jemima Whaley Etheredge. Franklin, N.C.: Genealogy Pub. Service, 1996. FHL Collection
  • [Swearingen] Gardner, Evelyn Ann Gay. Swearingen/Sweringen/Van Sweringen Family Information: Chief Blue Jacket's Family. MSS., Wright State University, Dayton, Ohio. Microfilmed 1993: FHL Collection
  • [Talbert] Aldridge, Eugene Talbert. Some Southern Talberts. 2 vols. Provo, Utah: J. Grant Stevenson, 1975-1981. FHL Collection
  • [Talbert] Fisher, Sunie Garrett Talbert Elliott. Garrett, Catlett, Ware and Related Families. Cullman, Ala.: Gregath, 1989. FHL Collection
  • [Titshaw] Titshaw, Ann Acker and John Chestia Titshaw Moon Apperson. The Titshaw and Cronic Families of America. Atlanta, Ga.: A.A. Titshaw, 1984. FHL Collection
  • [Walker] Walker, Legaré. The Walker Family, Originally of the Yeocomico River Section of Nothumberland (Subsequently Westmoreland) County, Virginia: Stemming from William Walker (1622/23-1657) and Through One of His Descendants, Joseph Rabley Walker (1768-1816), Who Immigrated from Mecklenburg County in that State to South Carolina, Circa 1806, and Settled in Edgefield County Near the Town of that Name: ... Summerville, S.C.: L. Walker, 1945. FHL 1429819 Item 2
  • [Walker] Russell, Judith F. "Samuel Walker of South Carolina: Three Revolutionary Soldiers," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 31, No. 1 (Winter 2003):17-20. FHL Collection
  • [Walker] Russell, Judith F. and Frances Bateman. Children and Grandchildren of Samuel and Martha-Jefferson Bell Walker, Edgefield, South Carolina, 1770-1820: Related Families, Beams, Eddins, Farrow, Holloway, Mays, Mitchell in Alabama, Mississippi, South Carolina, Tennessee. Bogart, Ga.: Julian Rose Pub., 2003. FHL 929.273 W154rj
  • [Walker] Russell, Judith F. The Descendants of Martha-Jefferson Bell and Samuel Walker, Edgefield, South Carolina: With Related Families Allen, Bealle, Bearns, Bell, Branch, Caldwell, Couch, Driskel, Easter, Eddins, Farrell, Farrow, Garrett, Halley, Hart, Hicks, Holloway, Jefferson, Johnson, Jones, Mays, Mayson, McCracken, McGee, Miller, Mitchell, Nobles, Pfifer, Shivers, Simms, Smith, Stith, Talbot, Todd, Tucker, Turner, Walker, Williamson, Wise, Wright and Wynne. Bogart, Ga.: Julian Rose Pub., 2007. FHL 929.273 W154rjf
  • [Watson] Paget, James Suddarth and Dallas LeRoy Phelps. Watson-Smith-Padgett Families of Edgefield and Saluda Counties, South Carolina. 1995. FHL 1750833 Item 19
  • [Weaver] Weaver, William C. The Memoirs of Frank Augustus Weaver, 1863-1942. Edgefield, S.C.: W.C. Weaver, 200-?. FHL Collection
  • [Webster] McCollum, E.W. Webster and Allied Families. Typescript, 1964. FHL Collection
  • [Whitten] Alexander, Virginia Wood. Whitten and Allied Families. Columbia, Tenn.: V.W. Alexander & W.C. Whitten, 1984. FHL Collection
  • [Williams] Crouch, Aline Williams. Williamson Williams and His Descendants, 1800-1988. Edgefield, S.C.: A.W. Crouch, 1988. FHL Collection
  • [Woods] Givens, Joyce Graham. Osiah Woods and Families. MSS. Microfilmed 2000. FHL Collection *[Worthington] Smoak, Lee Hendrix. "Using 'People Finders' to Track Individuals Not Cited Therein: The Example of Georgia's Saunders Worthington," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 83, No. 2 (June 1995):96-111. FHL Collection
  • [Youngblood] Youngblood, Delois Kelley. Research and Remembrances of Youngblood, Martin, Perry, Mann, Kelley, McKinney, McWhorter. Charlotte, N.C.: Dekey Publisher, [1987?]. FHL Collection
  • [Youngblood] Quaife, Dorothy Morris. Jeremiah Youngblood: A Genealogy. Springfield, Mo.: D. Quaife, 1991. FHL Collection
  • [Youngblood] Preator, Richard E. The Descendants of John Dyer & Mary "Polly" Youngblood of Jackson County, Tennessee. Salem, Mass.: Higginson, [1999?]. FHL Collection

History[edit | edit source]

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Because of South Carolina’s history as an agricultural state many residents owned land. For more information about types of land records see South Carolina Land and Property.

Tracing records through South Carolina county and district changes can be difficult. In general, for earliest records begin by searching the Charleston District, then your ancestor’s residential district, then neighboring districts, then the residential county, then neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. The following chart show where you may best expect to find land records for Edgefield County:


Tracing Land Currently in Edgefield County with Parent Counties and Districts [5]
Date Government Office  
1868-present Edgefield County
1800-1868 Edgefield District
1785-1800 Edgefield County (old) *
1769-1785 Ninety-Six District
1719-1769 Charleston District
1710-1719 Proprietary Land Grants
 

First deed book is missing

Deeds[edit | edit source]

The original Edgefield County deed books are kept at the county courthouse. The years 1787 to 1866 have been microfilmed: FHL Collection. The first 41 books have been published:

  • 1786-1796 - Hendrix, Ge Lee Corley. Edgefield County, South Carolina, Abstracts of Deed Books 1-12, 1786-1796. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1985. FHL Collection
  • 1796-1826 - Wells, Carol. Edgefield County, South Carolina Deed Books, Books 13-41, 1796-1826. Multivolume. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, 1997-2007. FHL Collection
  • Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868 For information about the State Land Grants, see State Land Grants

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Burton, Orville Vernon. In My Father's Are Many Mansions: Family and Community in Edgefield, South Carolina. Chapel Hill, N.C.: University of North Carolina Press, 1985. FHL Collection [Burton analyzes census data on every resident of Edgefield County between 1850 and 1880.] [6]
  • Chapman, John Abney. Chapman, John Abney. History of Edgefield County from the Earliest Settlement to 1897 (Newberry, S.C.: Elbert H. Aull, Publisher and Printer, 1897), 521 pages. Biographical and anecdotical, with sketches of the Seminole War, nullification, secession, reconstruction, churches and literature, withh rolls of all the companies from Edgefield in the war of secession, war with Mexico and with the Seminole Indians Digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archives.
  • Lucas, Gloria Ramsey. Slave records of Edgefield County, South Carolina. (Edgefield, South Carolina : Edgefield County Historical Society, c2010), 432 pages. Names are arranged by the name of the owner who sold the slave. Book found at FHL Collectionand Other Libraries.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Greenwood CountySaluda CountyAiken CountyMcCormick CountyColumbia CountyRichmond CountySC EDGEFIELD.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources



Migration[edit | edit source]

  • Dumont, Louise M. "Migrants from Edgefield County, S.C. 1842-1852," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 57, No. 2 (June 1969):105-108. FHL Collection

Early migration routes to and from Edgefield County for European settlers included:[7]

Military[edit | edit source]

General[edit | edit source]

  • "Brigade orders, headquarters, 1834," Quill, July 2007, Volume 23, Issue 4. Old Edgefield District Archives Chapter: Edgefield, SC.
  • "Reorganization of the Upper Battalion of the 10th Regiment of SC Militia, 1834," Quill, May 2007, Volume 23, Issue 3. Old Edgefield District Archives Chapter: Edgefield, SC.
  • "Troops from district, 1836," Upper South Carolina Genealogy and History, July 1996, Volume 10, Issue 3. Piedmont Historical Society: Spartansburg, SC.

Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]

  • "Elizabeth Marshall Martin fam., Rev. War experiences, SC," Upper South Carolina Genealogy and History, February 2004, Volume 18, Issue 1. Piedmont Historical Society: Spartansburg, SC.
  • "Soldiers from 96 dist., Stono Ferry ba.," Quill, November 2002, Volume 18, Issue 6. Old Edgefield District Archives Chapter : Edgefield, SC
  • "Sam. Walker bio., soldier," Quill, July 2002, Volume 18, Issue 5. Old Edgefield District Archives Chapter: Edgefield, SC
  • "Incidents in co., c. 1780," Quill November 2001, Volume 17, Issue 6. Old Edgefield District Archives Chapter: Edgefield, SC.
  • "Cloud's Creek massacre, 1781," Quill July 1999, Volume 15, Issue 4. Old Edgefield District Archives Chapter: Edgefield, SC.
  • "Pension applications, 1835," Roots and Branches, July 1999, Volume 20, Issue 2. Tusaloosa Genealogical Society c/o Mary Sinclair : Tuscaloosa, Alabama.
  • "Royalist regiment refugees," Quill, May 1997, Volume 13, Issue 3. Old Edgefield District Archives Chapter: Edgefield, SC.
  • "Ryan's co., SC militia payroll, 1779," Genealogical Roots and Branches, December 1995, Volume 16, Issues 3-4. Old Ninety-Six Chapter, SCGS : Greenwood, SC.
  • "Edgefield in the Rev. War," Quill, June 1995, June 1992, May 1992. Old Edgefield District Archives Chapter: Edgefield, SC.
  • "James McDavid intent fraud," Quill February 1995. Old Edgefield District Archives Chapter: Edgefield, SC.
  • "Revolutionary pensioners, Edgefield," Quill, May 1992. Old Edgefield District Archives Chapter: Edgefield, SC.
  • "Butler co., SC volunteers, 1782 muster roll," Carolinas Genealogical Society Bulletin, Fall 1970, Volume 7, Issue 2. Carolinas Genealogical Society : Monroe, NC. FHL Collection
  • Sheahan, John J. Military markers and data: cemeteries located in Edgefield County, South Carolina. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1996. FHL Collection

War of 1812[edit | edit source]

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, South Carolina, Edgefield County, pp. 184-185. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.
  • "Pension list," Annals of Edgefield District, December 1986, Issue 4. Old Edgefield District Archives Chapter, South Carolina: Edgefield, SC.
  • McClendon, Carlee T. Edgefield, South Carolina in the war of 1812 (Edgefield, South Carolina:  C. T. McClendon, copyright 1977) pages 55 FHL Book 975.7 A1

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Online Records


Regiments. Civil War service men from Edgefield County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies and regiments that were formed with many men from Edgefield County:

- 1st Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company C
- 1st Battalion, South Carolina Sharpshooters, Company A (also known the Union Light Infantry and German Fusiliers) and Company B (also known as the Sumter Guards)
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (6 months, 1861), Company C - (also known as the Edgefield Rifles or Riflemen)
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (Butler's) (1st Regulars), Company A (also called Company B and Beauregard Artillery)
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (McCreary's) (1st Provisional Army), Company G (also known as Butler Sentinels), Company H (also known as Haskell's Rifle Corps), and Company C (also known as Edgefield Rifles)
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina State Troops Junior Reserves (State Militia), Company C and Company E
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry, Company C (also known as Edgefield Rangers) and Company K (had been Company D of 1st South Carolina Cavalry Battalion)
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Artillery, Company K
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Artillery, Company B, Company E, and Company K
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina State Troops Junior Reserves (State Militia), Company B and Company F
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina State Troops (6 months 1863-64), Company B and Company I
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry , Company G (also known as Bonham's Light Dragoons) and Company I (also known as Edgefield Hussars or formerly known as Company A, Cavalry Battalion, Hampton Legion)
- 3rd Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company C
- 4th Regiment, South Carolina State Troop Junior Reserves, Company H
- 5th Regiment, South Carolina Reserves (90 days 1862-63), Company C and Company K
- 6th Battalion, South Carolina Reserves (Meriwether's), Company C, Company D, Company E, Captian L.S. Johnson Company, and Captain Tom Jones Company
- 6th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Aiken's Partisan Rangers) (1st Partisan Rangers), Company B and Company G
- 6th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company D
- 6th Battalion, South Carolina Reserves (Meriwether's), Company C Roster, Company D Roster, and Company E Roster
- 7th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry , Company E
- 7th Battalion, South Carolina Infantry (Nelson's) (Enfield Rifles), Company E and Company H
- 7th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company A, Company D, Company E, Company G, Company H, Company I, Company K and Company M
- 9th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company H
- 11th Batatlion, South Carolina Infantry, Yeadon Light Infantry
- 13th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company A
- 14th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company D
- 14th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company B, Company D, Company G, Company H, and Company K
- 15th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry , Company K
- 16th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company B and Company G
- 19th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company B
- 19th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company A, Company B, Company C, Company D, Company F, and Company K
- 22nd Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company A
- 24th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company I and Company K
- Aiken's Mounted Infantry, South Carolina

Other Resources

  • Chapman, John Abney. Chapman, John Abney. History of Edgefield County from the Earliest Settlement to 1897 (Newberry, S.C.: Elbert H. Aull, Publisher and Printer, 1897), 521 pages. Biographical and anecdotal, with sketches of the Seminole War, nullification, secession, reconstruction, churches and literature, withh rolls of all the companies from Edgefield in the war of secession, war with Mexico and with the Seminole Indians Digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archives.
  • South Carolina. Confederate Pension Board. Confederate Veterans and Their Widows Pension Records, 1919-1924. (Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1957). Microfilm copy at FHL Collection
  • Edgefield County Soldiers Board of Relief Commissioners. Returns, 1862-1863. (Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1957). Microfilm copy at FHL Collection

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Historic

The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Edgefield County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.

Current

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For this county, see:

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate is the “court procedure by which a will is proved to be valid or invalid” and encompasses “all matters and proceedings pertaining to the administration of estates, guardianships, etc.”[8] Various types of records are created throughout the probate process. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina.

The South Carolina Department of Archives and History has  microfilms or typescripts of wills, inventories, bills of sale, power of attorneys, bonds, notes, administrations, judgments, and sales records. They have placed Will Transcriptions for 1782 to 1855 online. Index searchable by name and the image is available.

The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Edgefield County wills. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:

Additional Edgefield County probate resources include:

  • Lesley Prey, comp. Edgefield County, South Carolina Wills, Books 1-2 (1836-1853), database on-line. Provo, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations Inc, 2000. Available at Ancestry ($).
    Original data: Edgefield County, South Carolina Wills, Book D, 1-2. For more information, see FHL 23869.
  • Edgefield County Wills, courtesy USGenWeb Archives.
  • Edgefield County Probate Records, courtesy USGenWeb Archives

Online Probate Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, relationships, and the year an individual died or left the area. They can be used as substitutes for missing or destroyed land and census records.

  • South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Edgefield County.

To learn more about using Edgefield's tax records, see:

  • Genealogy 101, Guide to Researching Tax Records, Homeplace, Vol. 3, No. 1 (Spring 2008).

Original sources

The South Carolina Department of Archives and History microfilmed a set of Returns of Edgefield County Personal Property covering the years 1869 and 1870. Copies: FHL Collection

Published abstracts

  • 1787 - Holcomb, Brent H. Two 1787 Tax Lists from Ninety Six District, S.C. 1974. FHL Collection
  • 1865 - Glenn, Tricia Price. 1865 Edgefield County Tax Returns. n.p.: n.p., 200-?. FHL Collection
  • 1865 - Tax Returns, 1865, Homeplace, Vol. 3, No. 1 (Spring 2008).
  • 1865 - County Tax Records, 1865, Quill, Vol. 18, No. 1 (Jan. 2002); Vol. 18, No. 2 (Mar. 2002); Vol. 18, No. 3 (May 2002); Vol. 18, No. 4 (Jul. 2002); Vol. 18, No. 5 (Jul. 2002); Vol. 18, No. 6 (Nov. 2002); Vol. 19, No. 1 (Jan. 2003); Vol. 19, No. 2 (Mar. 2003); Vol. 19, No. 3 (May 2003); Vol. 19, No. 5 (Sep. 2003); Vol. 19, No. 6 (Nov. 2003); Vol. 20, No. 1 (Jan. 2004); Vol. 20, No. 2 (Mar. 2004); Vol. 20, No. 3 (May 2004).
  • 1891 - Browder, Tonya A., Malissa N. Browder, and Glenn R. Zimmerman. Edgefield County, S.C.: Sifting through the Ashes of the 1890 Census. Edgefield, S.C.: Old Edgefield Pub. Co., 2008. FHL Collection. Includes 1891 tax list and 1891 census of Edgefield village.
  • 1892 - Colored School Districts Taxable Poll List, 1892, Quill, Vol. 21, No. 4 (Jul. 2005).
  • 1919 - Statistics on Wealth of People and Institutions, 1919, Quill, Vol. 25, No. 3 (May 2009).

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records. Substitute records, when available, are used to obtain this information. These substitute records including newspapers, court records have been added to this section, when applicable.

Birth[edit | edit source]

State-wide birth registration began in 1915. For a copy of a birth from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Edgefield County Health Department also has copies but they provide only an abbreviated form with limited information. For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Marriage[edit | edit source]

In South Carolina, marriage licenses were not required by local governments until 1 July 1911. However, in the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Not all churches recorded these marriages and some have not survived. See South Carolina Vital Records for more information.

The Edgefield County probate court holds marriage licenses issued from 1 July 1911 to the present. Statewide registration of marriages began in July 1950 and the South Carolina Division of Vital Records has copies of licenses issued after 1 July 1950 through November 2009.

Newspapers are used as a substitute to locate marriage information. See South Carolina Newspapers.

Marriages and Marriage Substitutes - Indexes and Records

  • 1769-1880 - Edgefield County Marriages, 1769-1880: Implied in Edgefield County, South Carolina Probate Records by Barbara R. Langdon [9]FHL Collection WorldCat - index
  • 1830 - "Marriage and Death Notices from the Edgefield Hive: Jan.-Dec. 1830, Vol. 1" by Elizabeth D. English  [10] Digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • 1911-1947 - Proof of Marriages Prior to July 1, 1911; Marriage Registers, 1911-1947 [11]FHL Collection
  • There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found in some counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Death[edit | edit source]

State-wide death registration began in 1915. For a copy of the death certificates from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Edgefield County Health Department only has copies for deaths occurring in the last 5 years. For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Deaths and Death Substitutes - Indexes and Records

  • 1800-1900- CSI: Dixie collects 1583 coroners reports from six South Carolina counties for the years 1800-1900.
  • 1830 - "Marriage and Death Notices from the Edgefield Hive: Jan.-Dec. 1830, Vol. 1," by Elizabeth D. English [12] Digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • 1843-1869 - Edgefield County Death Index 1843-1869. Batch B545971 at FamilySearch - free.[13]
  • 1844-1902 - Inquisition books, 1844-1902 [14]FHL Collection.
  • 1877-1901 - Edgefield County Death Index 1877-1901. Batch B545972 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
  • 1901-1902 - Edgefield County Death Index 1901-1902. Batch B545973 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
  • 1915-1965 - South Carolina Deaths, 1915-1965 at FamilySearch — index and images
  • State-wide South Carolina Death Indexes. There are several online death indexes covering all of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Archives, Libraries, Museums[edit | edit source]

Edgefield County Public Library

Address:
105 Court House Square
Edgefield, SC 29824
Telephone: (803) 637-4025
Hours of Operation: Monday to Wednesday 10:00 a.m to 6:00 p.m.,Thursday 10:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., Friday 10:00 to 6:00 p.m., Saturday 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m., Sunday Closed
The Edgefield County Library is part of the ABBE Regional System listed below. The Edgefield Library Catalog is shared with the other three counties in the ABBE Regional Library System. To access the Catalog, Click Here.
You can subscribe to an email newsletter and select to receive information from the Edgefield branch among other places and subjects. To subscribe Click Here.

Other Edgefield County Libraries

The links below lead to the websites of the other libraries in Edgefield County. Each has its own hours and services, but all share the same cartalog. For more information the other Edgefield County libraries, select the links below

  • Johnston
    Address:
    407 Calhoun Street
    Johnston, SC 29832
    Phone: (803) 275-5157
    Hours of operation: Monday 12:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m., Tuesday 12:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m., Wednesday Closed, Thursday 12:00 to 6:00, Friday to Sunday Closed
  • Trenton
    Address:
    117 Watson Road
    Trenton, SC 29847
    Phone: (803) 275-2538
    Hours of Operation: Monday Closed, Tuesday to Wednesday 3:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m., Thursday to Friday; Closed, Saturday 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m., Sunday Closed
  • Edgefield County Library is part of the ABBE Regional Library System (The Aiken-Bamberg-Barnwell-Edgefield Regional Library System) that is headquaterred in Aiken county. It serves the four western South Carolina counties of Aiken, Bamberg, Barnwell, and Edgefield. It has 14 branches and a bookmobile in its system. 
  • South Carolina Digital Library
    The South Carolina Digital Library (SCDL) is a collaborative effort to encourage South Carolina schools, libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. Its mission is to encourage institutions to create, maintain, and promote digital collections that represent South Carolina's historical and cultural resources. SCDL envisions a central web presence that will become a research tool for K-12 students, researchers in higher education, and other life-long learners of South Carolina’s history and culture. . The web site will give greater access to the rare and special South Carolina historical materials housed in the many museums, libraries, archives, and historical institutions in the state.[15]

SCDL's primary offerings for Edgefield County currently include various maps  - including topographical and Sanborn Fire Insurance maps, artifacts and letters.

Societies - Genealogical, Historical, Lineage[edit | edit source]

Old Edgefield District Genealogical Society SCGS Chapter
P.O. Box 546
Edgefield SC 29824-0546
803-637-4010
Contact: oedgs@spiritcom.net

Collection of newspapers, wills, deeds, censuses, and mortality schedules.

Old 96 Chapter SCGS
P.O. Box 3468
Greenwood SC 29648-3468

Old 96 Chapter covers Greenwood, Abbeville and part of Edgefield and McCormick Counties.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Edgefield County, South Carolina

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Edgefield County, South Carolina" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edgefield_County,_South_Carolina." accessed 27/06/2019
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Edgefield County, South Carolina. Page 611-615 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Collection; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 607-608.
  3. Workers of the Writers' Program of the Works Projects Administration in the State of South Carolina, Palmetto Place Names (The Reprint Company: Spartanburg, S.C., 1975) 14.
  4. Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
  5. Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL Collection
  6. LeeAnn Whites. Book Review: In My Father's Are Many Mansions: Family and Community in Edgefield, South Carolina by Orville Vernon Burton Journal of Social History, Vol. 21, No. 1 (Autumn, 1987), pp. 133-135. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Collection) ▲ WorldCat 50140092, and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the Early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Collection) ▲ WorldCat 1523234.
  8. Henry Campbell Black, Black's Law Dictionary, 5th ed. (St. Paul, Minnesota: West Publishing Co., 1979), 1081, "probate."
  9. Langdon, Barbara R., Edgefield County Marriages, 1769-1880: Implied in Edgefield County, South Carolina Probate Records, [S.l.: s.n.], c1990.
  10. English, Elizabeth D. "Marriage and Death Notices from the Edgefield Hive: Jan.-Dec. 1830, Vol. 1," The South Carolina Historical and Genealogical Magazine, Vol. 42, No. 1 (Jan., 1941), pp. 25-27.
  11. South Carolina, Probate Judge (Edgefield County), Proof of Marriages Prior to July 1, 1911; Marriage Registers, 1911-1947, Columbia, SC: South Carolina Department of Archives and History, 1976.
  12. English, Elizabeth D. "Marriage and Death Notices from the Edgefield Hive: Jan.-Dec. 1830, Vol. 1," The South Carolina Historical and Genealogical Magazine, Vol. 42, No. 1 (Jan., 1941), pp. 25-27.
  13. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/b/b2/Igisouthcarolina.pdf.
  14. Edgefield County (South Carolina), County Coroner, Inquisition books, 1844-1902, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1957.
  15. South Carolina Digital Library (SCDL) http://www.scmemory.org/index.php "About SCDL" [Internet site]



...