To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Edøy Parish, Møre og Romsdal, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Eid, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Edøy Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Trondheim
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1919: Romsdal
Fylke 1919-Present 1919-1935: Romsdal, 1935-: Møre og Romsdal
Region add here
Prestegjeld Edø
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Edø
Fogderi Nordmør
Sorenskriveri Nordmør
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Edøy clerical district contains parish registers from the parishes Edøy, Brattvær, Hopen and Tustna. Brattvær and Hopen were separated from Aure clerical district in 1749. Tustna was separated from Edøy parish in 1867.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1751-1931.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:

Edøy: 1751-1765, 1767-1879

Edøy / Brattvær: 1819-1827, 1880-1900, 1909-1925

Edøy / Edøy: 1819-1836, 1909-1931

Edøy / Hopen: 1819-1827, 1880-1906, 1909-1925

Edøy / Tustna: 1850-1874

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1664-1666: Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666. The 1664-1666 census for Edøy clerical district is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Includes the parishes ofEdøy, Brattvær, Hopen and Aure. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • 1801: Folketellingen den 1ste februar 1801, Norge. The 1801 census for Edøy clerical district is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Includes the parishes of Edøy, Brattvær and Hopen. Also available online at the Digital Archives.
  • Folketellingen 1835 and 1845 for Edøy. The 1835 and 1845 census for Edøy and Aure is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Includse mainly statistical information. Census records for Kvernes, Tingvoll, Surnadal, Stangvik, Sunndal, Kristiansund, Edøy and Aure clerical districts. Includes mainly statistics, but the censuses for Kvernes 1825 and 1855 gives the name of the farm, persons name, age, occupation and some miscellaneous information.
  • 1875: Folketellingen for kongeriget Norge den 31te desember 1875. The 1875 census for Edøy clerical district is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Includes the parishes of Edøy, Hopen and Brattvær.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Berf, Gudmund Frode, Berg, Aashild, Skjølberg, Erlind, Fredly, Kjell Egil,Smøla bygdebok, Trondheim : Utgitt av Smøla kulturstyre, 1981-1998. A history and genealogy of the people and their farms in Smøla in Møre og Romsdal county. FHL 948.35/S10 D2s A farm name index to volume 2 is found in the following link. File:948.35-S10 D2s v2 - SMOLA.pdf

Contents: v. 1. Ålmenn bygdesoge for Smøla : utviklinga på Smøla fram til år 1700 / av Gudmund Frode Berg. Gards- og ættesoge for Smøla : Ytre Roksvåg-Vikan / av Aashild Berg og Erling Skjølberg -- v. 2. Gards- og ættesoge for Hellesfjord - Kråkvær / av Aashild Berg -- v. 3. Utviklinga på Smøla gjennom to hundre år 1665-1865 : gards- og ættesoge for Sandvær - Tranøy / av Gudmund Frode Berg -- v. 4. Gards- og ættesoge for Klakkan - Skomsøy / av Gudmund Frode Berg og Aashild Berg -- v. 5-7. Gards- og ættesoge for Vestmøla / av Nils Tore Leivdal og Kjell Fredly -- v. 8 og 9. Gards- og ættesoge for Veiholmen / av Kjell Fredly -- v. 10. Gards- og ættesoge for Hopen / av Kjell Fredly -- v. 11. Gards- og ættesoge for Steinsøysund og Frostadheia / av Kjell Fredly.

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

17 Arnøen,

4 Bremnes,

13 Edøen, 16 Ellevsøen,

8 Gjernes, 10 Glasøen,

6 Hellesfjord, 15 Hestøen,

24 Jøen, 23 Jøstølen,

26 Kraakvær, 14 Kuli,

9 Lerviken,

7 Nælviken,

11 Otterholmen,

21 Rangnes, 25 Ringsøen med Draget, 19 Risdalen, 2 Rokstad, 3 Roksvaag indre, 18 Rosvold,

22 Skjelberg, 19 Stranden, 20 Strømmen,

19 Trætneset, 19 Trætviken, 12 Tyrhaug,

5 Vikan,

19 Ødegaarden

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1668-1877: Probates are found in Nordmøre judicial district.

1697-1812: Clerical probates are found in Nordmøre Deanery

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names