To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Eccleston, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Eccleston, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Eccleston, Cheshire
Gates of St Mary the Virgin Parish Church Eccleston.jpg
Gates of St Mary the Virgin Parish Church Eccleston
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxton
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Great Boughton
Registration District Great Boughton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1593
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chester
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Eccleston St Mary's is an ancient parish and is situated on the estate of the Duke Westminster and includes: Eaton, Wrightington, Parbold, and Heskin.

Formerly a township in Broxton Hundred, it includes the hamlets of Belgrave and Morris Oak.
Eccleston is a civil parish and village in the unitary authority of Cheshire West and Chester and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, and close to Chester.

ECCLESTON (St. Mary), is a parish, in the union of Great Boughton, the lower division of the hundred of Broxton, S. division of the county of Chester; it contains the Eton township. This parish is situated on the river Dee, in Eccleston township.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Eccleston parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Eccleston Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1538-1911
1538-1910
1538-1911
FMP Diocese BTs 1576-1906
1576-1906
1576-1906
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

None

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts[edit | edit source]

Here is a list of districts that have included Eccleston since 1837, with dates of inclusion:

  • Great Boughton (1837–69)
  • Chester (1870–1937)
  • West Cheshire (1937–74)
  • Chester and Ellesmere Port (1974–98)
  • Cheshire West (1998+)

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Poor Law Unions were geographic areas made up of a number of parishes, and first came into being in rural areas around 1700. However, we refer here to the poor law unions created as a result of the passing of the New Poor Law Act in 1834. Poor Law Unions, with boards of guardians, were established throughout England and Wales, and each union had an institution or workhouse where the poor and indigent were sent when they were unable to care for themselves or provide for their families. The directors of the institutions kept careful records of admissions and discharges and of life within the workhouse walls, and also of those who received 'out-relief' which enabled them to stay in their own homes. These records may provide you valuable information about your poorer ancestors.

Eccleston was included in the following poor law unions:

Records[edit | edit source]

Some records are deposited at the National Archives at Kew near London and others are deposited at county record archives. To learn about records, try the following:

  • Contact the Record Office.
  • Search the FamilySearch Catalog for records of the poor law unions.
  • Check the three-volume guide Poor Law Union Records by Jeremy Gibson and Colin Rogers, published by the Federation of Family History Societies. The guide is available at many archives and libraries. (Family History Library book 942 P37gj; vol. 1- South-East England and East Anglia, vol. 2- The Midlands and Northern England, vol. 3- South-West England, The Marches and Wales.)

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Eccleston on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 19 February 2013
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk


Bibliography[edit | edit source]

Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, p. 35, ISBN 1871731232

Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 213–214, ISBN 0 300 09588 0