Eccleshill, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Eccleshill, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Here is a comprehensive List of Churches and Chapels within Bradford St Peter Parish Boundary.
Parish History[edit | edit source]
ECCLESHILL, a township, in the parish of Bradford, union of Carlton (under Gilbert's act), wapentake of Morley, W. riding of York, 2¼ miles (N. E. by N.) from Bradford. A church, dedicated toSt. Luke, was erected in 1844. There are places of worship for Independents, and Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists.
BRADFORD (St. Peter), a borough, market-town, and parish [with several chapelries and ancient chapels attached to it] and the head of a union, in the wapentake of Morley, West Riding, Yorkshire, comprising the townships of Allerton, North Bierley, Bowling, Bradford, Clayton, Eccleshill, Heaton, Manningham, Shipley, and Wilsden, and the chapelries of Haworth, Horton, and Thornton.The churches dedicated to St. James and St. John are listed under Horton, St. Jude's church is listed under the township of Manningham. There are other churches that have been erected at Bierley, Bowling, Buttershaw, Clayton, Daisy-Hill, Denholme-Gate, Eccleshill, Haworth, Horton, New Leeds, Manningham, Oxenhope, Shipley, Stanbury, Thornton, Wibsey, and Wilsden. Other places of worship include: Baptists, Quakers/Society of Friends, Independents, Primitive Methodists, Wesleyan Methodist, Unitarians, and Roman Catholics.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Online Records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from parish and chapelry registers of Bradford and its chapels exist at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|ECCLEHILL CHAPELRY (1825) Online Records-see also Dewsbury Parish|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Eccleshill and comprising the whole ancient parish of Bradford to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the BRADFORD PARISH page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1599.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 136-139. Adapted. Date accessed: 27 February 2013.
- 'West Yorkshire, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1910,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.
- 'West Yorkshire, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1935,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.
- 'West Yorkshire, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1985,' Ancestry, accessed 13 May 2014.