Ebonyi State, Nigeria Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Ebonyi State, Nigeria)
Jump to: navigation, search
Nigeria Wiki Topics
Flag of Nigeria.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Nigeria Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Nigeria
State of Ebonyi

Guide to State of Ebonyi family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

State of Ebonyi

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg


Information

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Ebonyi State
Ebonyi State is a mainland south-eastern state of Nigeria, populated primarily by Igbos (95% of population). Its capital and largest city is Abakaliki. Afikpo is the second largest city. It is one of the six new states in Nigeria created in 1996; Ebonyi was created from the of old Abakaliki division of Enugu State and old Afikpo division of Abia State.

There are five first languages spoken in Ebonyi: Izi-Ezaa-Ikwo-Mgbo, Kukele, Legbo, Mbembe, and Oring.

Local Government Areas

Other main towns

Other major towns are Edda, Onueke, Nkalagu, Uburu, Onicha, Ishiagu, Amasiri and Okposi.

History

Ebonyi State is a state of Nigeria, in the south of the Eastern region. It is inhabited and populated primarily by Igbo. Its capital and largest city is Abakaliki. It is one of the six states created in 1996 by the Abacha government. Ebonyi was created from parts of both Enugu State and Abia State. It is the location of the Federal College of Agriculture, Ishiagu.

Genealogy

Websites

References

....