Eaton County, Michigan Genealogy
Guide to Eaton County, Michigan ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Eaton County, Michigan|
Location of Michigan in the U.S.
|Founded||October 29, 1829|
|Address|| 1045 Independence Blvd.|
Charlotte, MI 48813
Phone: (517) 543-7500
Eaton County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Cemeteries
- 5.2 Census
- 5.3 Church
- 5.4 Court
- 5.5 Directories
- 5.6 Emigration and Immigration
- 5.7 Land
- 5.8 Local Histories
- 5.9 Maps
- 5.10 Military
- 5.11 Newspapers
- 5.12 Obituaries
- 5.13 Probate
- 5.14 Taxation
- 5.15 Vital Records
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
The County was named for John Eaton. The County has Charlotte as its seat and the County was created 1837. The County is located in the south central area of the state.
Eaton County, Michigan Record Dates
Eaton County Courthouse
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1867,
marriage records from 1838, divorce and court records
from 1847 and some naturalization records.
Probate Court has probate records.
Register of Deeds has land records. 
- A brief history of Eaton County is available at Eaton County, Michigan
- Eaton County Historical Markers
- Archives of Michigan research guides Eaton County, Michigan
- Eaton County Historical Commission
See THE CAPITOL REGION OF MICHIGAN compiled by Victoria Wilson for a general "how to" guide to researching in the area.
County histories - books & online
- History of Ingham and Eaton counties
- History of Ingham and Eaton counties, Michigan
- Michigan County Histories and Atlases
- Portrait Album of Eaton County, Michigan
- County of Eaton, Michigan Topography and Art Folio
- Pioneer History of Eaton County, Michigan
1829--Eaton County was created 29 October 1829 from unorganized territory. It was attached to St. Joseph and Kalamazoo Counties prior to organization 29 December 1837. County seat: Charlotte 
For animated maps illustrating Michigan county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Michigan County Boundary Maps" (1790-1897) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
See also COUNTY EVOLUTION IN MICHIGAN, 1790-1897 by Richard W. Welch for the development of the counties in the state. This will help you to determine place of residence of your ancestors and under whose civil jurisdiction they resided. It is also useful for when you start to read the census records
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
- Cities: Charlotte . Eaton Rapids . Grand Ledge . Olivet . Potterville
- Villages: Bellevue . Dimondale . Mulliken . Sunfield . Vermontville
- Townships: Bellevue . Benton . Brookfield . Carmel . Cheste r. Delta Charter . Eaton Rapids . Eaton . Hamlin . Kalamo . Oneida Charter . Roxand . Sunfield . Vermontville . Walton . Windsor Charter
- Communities: Ainger . Bismark . Brookfield . Carlisle . Charlesworth . Chester . Delta Center . Delta Mills . Five Points Corner . Gresham . Hoytville . Kalamo . Kelly . Kingsland . Little Venice . Millett . Needmore . Olivet Station . Oneida Center . Packard . Petreville . Sahytown . Stalls Corner . Waverly . West Windsor . Woodbury
The Eaton County Clerk's Office has provided information about how to obtain genealogical records for their county on their portion of the County Web Site.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|MIGenWeb Archives||WorldCat||Billion Graves|
|See Michigan Cemeteries for more information.|
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Michigan denominations, view the Michigan Church Records wiki page.
Emigration and Immigration
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Michigan Land and Property for additional information about early Michigan land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Eaton County, Michigan Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Michigan Local Histories.
- Maps of Michigan (1790-1897)
- Family Maps of Eaton County, Michigan Genealogy (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Civil War service men from Eaton County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Eaton County.
Finding More Michigan Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Eaton County, Michigan Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
In most counties in Michigan, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Michigan, Eaton and search for Probate records in the list.
- Note: Not every county in Michigan will have Probate Records in the FamilySearch Catalog.
Online Probate Records
- 1784 – 1980 Michigan Wills and Probate Records 1784-1980 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1797 – 1973 Michigan Probate Records 1797-1973 at FamilySearch — images
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased as shown below:
- Birth Records and Death Records from the Michigan Department of Community Health (from 1867) or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- Marriage Records (from 1867) and Divorce Records (from 1897) from the County Clerk.
- Marriage Records (from 1867) and Divorce Records (from 1897) from the County Clerk.
- 1867-1917 - Michigan, County Births, 1867-1917 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1867-1902 - Michigan Birth Registrations, 1867-1902-- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as name of child, birthdate and place, if still-born, illegitimate or twin, gender, race and record number.
- 1585-1945 - Michigan, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1820-1937 - Michigan, County Marriages Index, 1820-1937 at FamilySearch — index
- 1820-1940 - Michigan, County Marriages, 1820-1940 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1868-1925 - Michigan Marriage Registrations, 1868-1925 -- Free name indexes at FamilySearch. Records include such information as names of bride and groom, date of license, ages, race, residences, birthplaces, occupations and names of the fathers of the bride and groom.
- 1850-1880 - Michigan Mortality Schedules, 1850-1880 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1867-1897 - Michigan Death Registrations, 1867-1897 -- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as name of deceased, date and place of death, gender, color, marital status, age in years, months and days, disease or apparent cause of death, birthplace, names and occupations of parents, and the date the record was made.
Societies and Libraries
Eaton County Genealogical Society
100 E Lawrence Ave
Charlotte MI 48813
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Eaton County, MI History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Michigan Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Michigan Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- FamilySearch Catalog
- The Eaton County MIGenWeb Project, an member of The MIGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- Eaton County, Michigan Genealogy Trails
- Eaton County MI Genealogy (Michigan Genealogy)
- Eaton Co. Genealogical Society (Facebook)
- Wikipedia contributors, "Eaton County, Michigan" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eaton_County,_Michigan."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Eaton County, Michigan . Page 343-351 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 346-349.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Eaton County, Michigan page 345, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).