Easthorpe, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Essex
Essex Parishes
Easthorpe


Guide to Easthorpe, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Easthorpe, Essex
St Mary the Virgin, Easthorpe Essex.jpg
St Mary the Virgin, Easthorpe Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lexden (Colchester)
County Essex
Poor Law Union Lexden and Winstree
Registration District Lexden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1572
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629; 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Coggeshall
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Colchester
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Easthorpe, is a parish in Lexden district, Essex; it is 1 3/4 of a mile SE of Marks Tey Junction railway station, and 4 miles ESE of Coggleshall.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Easthorpe, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[3]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Easthorpe, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD 1576-1834
ESSEX 1572-1812 1576-1956 1572-1812
FSPRs Undefined Undefined Undefined
Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Lexden and Winstree Poor Law Union, Essex

n 1205 the lessee of Easthorpe manor was exempted from suit to the shire and hundred courts. In 1303 the lord of Easthorpe manor was granted free warren. The few surviving court rolls show that manor courts met infrequently between 1727 and 1794 to deal with routine manorial business such as transfers of holdings, but that none at all met between 1728 and 1737; there were usually two jurors.
Easthorpe's rate of poor relief expenditure per head of population was about average for Lexden hundred. Costs were £54 in 1776, aver- aged £95 in 1783-5, and in 1802 were £285. They fluctuated between £87 and £265 between 1803 and 1818, rose to £311 in 1819, equivalent to 35s. 7d. a head, and then fell to £182 in 1824. Between 1825 and 1830 they ranged between £261 and £173, and then fell to £137, equivalent to 16s. 4d. a head, in 1836. [5]

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Easthorpe on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England Wales, (1870) Adapted: Date Accessed 17 May 2013
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011.
  3. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  4. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
  5. From: 'Easthorpe: Local government', A History of the County of Essex: Volume 10: Lexden Hundred (Part) including Dedham, Earls Colne and Wivenhoe (2001), pp. 203. British History Date accessed: 12 February 2011.