Eastham, Worcestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Eastham, Worcestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Worcestershire
Worcestershire Parishes
Eastham

Guide to Eastham, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Eastham, Worcestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Doddingtree
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Tenbury
Registration District Tenbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1571; Separate registers exist for Hanley William beginning 1586
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660; Separate records exist for Hanley William beginning 1614
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Burford
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Parish History

EASTHAM (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Tenbury, Upper division of the hundred of Doddingtree, Tenbury and W. divisions of the county of Worcester, 18 miles (N. W.) from Worcester, on the road to Ludlow with the chapelries of Hanley-Child and Orleton.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 06 October 2013.

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.