Eastern Shawnee Tribe of Oklahoma

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Oklahoma Wiki Topics
Oklahoma flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Oklahoma Background
Cultural Groups
Local Research Resources

Guide to Eastern Shawnee ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and other agency records.

Eastern Shawnee flag.jpg

The Eastern Shawnee Tribe of Oklahoma is a federally-recognized tribal entity.

Tribal Headquarters[edit | edit source]

Eastern Shawnee Tribe of Oklahoma
10170 South 705 Road
Wyandottee OK 74370
Phone: 918-238-5151
Website


Population: 1984 1,400 enrolled [1]

History[edit | edit source]

Brief Timeline[edit | edit source]

Reservations[edit | edit source]

Records[edit | edit source]

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Allotted land: 708.46 acres. Tribally owned 84.48 acres. [2]

Websites[edit | edit source]

For Further Reading[edit | edit source]

For background information to help find Native American ancestors see For Further Reading.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Indian Reservations A State and Federal Handbook. Compiled by The Confederation of American Indians, New York, N.Y. McFarland and Co. Inc., Jefferson, North Carolina, c. 1986. FHL book 970.1 In2 page 223
  2. Indian Reservations A State and Federal Handbook. Compiled by The Confederation of American Indians, New York, N.Y. McFarland and Co. Inc., Jefferson, North Carolina, c. 1986. FHL book 970.1 In2 page 223