To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Eastern Cape Province, South Africa Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
South Africa Wiki Topics
Flag of South Africa.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
South Africa Background
Local Research Resources
Moderator

The FamilySearch moderator for the South Africa is Daniel Jones.

Guide to Province of Eastern Cape family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Province of Eastern Cape
South Africa ORP.png

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg


Historical Overview[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

The Eastern Cape as a South African Province came into existence in 1994 and incorporated areas from the former Xhosa homelands of the Transkei and Ciskei, together with what was previously part of the Cape Province.
The province is also the home of the Mpondo clan, which primitively descended from the Xhosa clan. Mpondo people are more closely related to Xhosa, as they use Xhosa as their main home language.
[1]

Localities
[edit | edit source]

List of cities and towns in the Eastern Cape

Maps and gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Records[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Adelaide Main Cemetery

South Africa-Eastern Cape Cemeteries

">FindAGrave</a> records for Eastern Cape, South Africa

Census[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

Dutch Reformed Church (NGK)[edit | edit source]

The following list contains the names of the parishes located in the Eastern Cape through 1900, and includes the names of the mother parish.

Church Year Established Mother parish
Graaff-Reinet 1792 Tulbagh
Uitenhage 1817 Graaff-Reinet
Cradock 1818 Graaff-Reinet
Somerset-Oos 1825 Graaff-Reinet, Uitenhage
Glen Lynden (Bedford) 1829 Somerset-Oos
Albanie 1831 Uitenhage
Burgersdorp 1846 Colesberg, Cradock
Humansdorp 1848 Uitenhage
Middelburg 1852 Colesberg, Cradock, Graaff-Reinet, Richmond
Aliwal-Noord 1852 Burgersdorp
Alexandria 1854 Uitenhage
Queenstown 1854 Cradock
Jansenville 1855 Uitenhage
Aberdeen 1855 Graaff-Reinet
Dordrecht 1856 Aliwal-Noord, Burgersdorp
Pearston 1859 Graaff-Reinet, Somerset-Oos
Komga 1859 Glen Lynden, Albanie, Stockenström
Lady Grey 1862 Aliwal-Noord
Greykerk (Balfour) 1862 Stockenström
Alice 1862 Albanie
Tarkastad 1863 Cradock, Queenstown
Willowmore 1864
Barkly-Oos 1873 Lady Grey, Dordrecht
Steynsburg 1876 Burgersdorp
Hofmeyr 1876 Burgersdorp, Cradock
Steytlerville 1876 Uitenhage
Nieu-Bethesda 1878 Graaff-Reinet
Molteno 1881 Dordrecht
Venterstad 1882 Colesberg, Burgersdorp
Cedarville 1888 Barkly-Oos
Elliot 1890 Dordrecht, Barkly-Oos
Adelaide 1890 Glen Lynden
Umtata 1890 Dordrecht
Sterkstroom 1891 Molteno
Jamestown 1891 Aliwal-Noord, Dordrecht
Dutch Reformed Church (NHK)[edit | edit source]
Reformed Church (GK)[edit | edit source]
Methodist[edit | edit source]
Anglican[edit | edit source]
Catholic[edit | edit source]
Others[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Births, marriages, and deaths began to be registered in 1895.[1]

A wiki article describing an online collection is found South Africa, Cape Province, Civil Deaths - FamilySearch Historical Records

Emigration
[edit | edit source]

Genealogy
[edit | edit source]

Fysh, JPG and AVGA. Goodbye, Norfolk, I Must Leave You. A basic family tree of Thomas Fysh of Cockley Cley and Ann ? Howes. The family move around to Kings Lynn, London, South Africa - Capetown, Canada - Ontario, Brantford, and Australia, with 2 Fysh going to Tasmania, and one to the mainland, Australia. Sir William Hudson Fysh was the ancestor who founded the airline, Qantas, Sir Philip Oakley Fysh was Prime Minister of Tasmania. Article dates from 1742-1930, and is found in The Norfolk Ancestor, old series, vol.3 pt.7, page 94-96, Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j vol.3,pt7

Land records
[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

The Cody Library at Rhodes University in Grahamstown has original and microfilm copies of many newspapers, including the Grahamstown Journal (1831-1920) and Grocott's Mail (1872-current). Their website can be accessed href="http://www.ru.ac.za/corylibrary/"

Occupations
[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

See South Africa Cape Province Probate Records for a description of what probates are and where they are located.

Online Records

School records
[edit | edit source]

Slave Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Websites
[edit | edit source]

Further Reading[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. The Family History Department of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, “Family History Record Profile: Southern Africa,” Word document, private files of the FamilySearch Content Strategy Team, 1987-1998.