To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

East Tytherley, Hampshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from East Tytherley, Hampshire)
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to East Tytherley, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

East Tytherley, Hampshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Thorngate
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Stockbridge
Registration District Stockbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1562
Bishop's Transcripts: 1780
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Somborne
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

TYTHERLEY or TUDERLEY, EAST (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Stockbridge, hundred of Thorngate, Romsey and S. divisions of the county of Southampton, 7 miles (S. W.) from Stockbridge.[1].

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

East Tytherley, Hampshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = findmypast - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
EAST TYTHERLEY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FS 1562-1875
1562-1875

PRTS 1780-1870
1780-1870
1780-1870


Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 407-411. Date accessed: 17 June 2013.
  2. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 5 October 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.

FamilySearch