East Teignmouth, Devon Genealogy
Guide to East Teignmouth, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|East Teignmouth, Devon|
|Poor Law Union||Newton Abbot|
|Registration District||Newton Abbot|
|Parish registers: 1665|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1606|
|Probate Court||A Peculiar of the Court of the Dean and Chapter of Exeter|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
TEIGNMOUTH, a sea-port and market-town, comprising two parishes, called East and West, in the union of Newton-Abbott, hundred of Exminster, Teignbridge and S. divisions of Devon, 15 miles (S. by E.) from Exeter. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Calvinistic Methodists. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
East Teignmouth, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Devon Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|East Teignmouth, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records|
||1606-1620, 1633-1641, 1666-1837||
The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in East Teignmouth, but the exact parish has not been identified
- Plymouth Brethren
- Roman Catholic
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
East Teignmouth on GENUKI