East Stonehouse, Devon Genealogy
Guide to East Stonehouse, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|East Stonehouse, Devon|
|Poor Law Union||East Stonehouse|
|Registration District||East Stonehouse|
|Parish registers: 1813|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1762|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
STONEHOUSE, EAST (St. George), a town and parish, forming a union of itself, in the borough of Devonport, and suburbs of Plymouth, Roborough and S. divisions of Devon. This place was originally called Hipperston. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
East Stonehouse, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Devon Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|East Stonehouse, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Bible Christian Methodist
- French Protestant
- Particular Baptist
- Roman Catholic
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
East Stonehouse on GENUKI