East Smithfield Liberty, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
East Smithfield Liberty

Guide to East Smithfield Liberty, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

East Smithfield Liberty, otherwise called St Botolph Without Aldgate, was known and called by that name. It lay partly within the City of London and partly in the county of Middlesex.

"East Smithfield is the area in front of the Royal Mint, and the St Katherine Dock's Office, and the street and avenues on the northern sides of those docks. Although it is now a close and confined neighbourhood, it was in the reign of Henry III an open field, on which was held an annual fair for fifteen days at Whitsuntide, from the Eve of Pentecost to the Octaves of trinity. In the Library of East Smithfield a court-leet and court-baron are held, wherein pleas to the amount of forty shillings are held, nuisances presented, and other similar judicial acts."[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

East Smithfield Liberty Online Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Middlesex
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
FamilySearch Parish Registers-Middlesex
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Find My Past-Middlesex ($)
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1400s-1900s
Find My Past (Westminster)-Middlesex ($)
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1400s-1900s
Find My Past Banns-Middlesex ($)
-
-
-
1700s-1800s
-
-
Ancestry-London Church of England BMD (Early) ($)
1500s-1800s
-
1500s-1800s
-
1500s-1800s
-
Ancestry-London Church of England BMD (Late) ($)
1800s-1900s
-
1700s-1900s
-
1800s-2000s
-
Ancestry Marriage Bonds and Allegations-London and Surrey ($)
-
-
1600s-1900s
-
-
-
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1600s-1800s

Other Websites These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • East Smithfield, Portsoken Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/148), Copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1600 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1620 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • Ossulstone Hundred, Tower Division: The Tower Hamlets and Whitechapel, East Smithfield (The National Archives, Ref: E179/142/254); transcript by Charles Edward Banks: FHL Film 1550095 item 20.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Union[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

East Smithfield Liberty in St Botolph Without Aldgate on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. James Elmes, M.R. I. A., Architect. In “A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs,” (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831).