To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

East Portlemouth, Devon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
East Portlemouth


Guide to East Portlemouth, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

East Portlemouth, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Coleridge
County Devon
Poor Law Union Kingsbridge
Registration District Kingsbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1562
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Woodleigh
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

PORTLEMOUTH, EAST (St. Onolaus), a parish, in the union of Kingsbridge, hundred of Coleridge, Stanborough and Coleridge, and S. divisions of the county of Devon, 6 miles (S. by E.) from Kingsbridge; containing, with the hamlets of Rickham and Holset. The parish is situated on the Kingsbridge estuary, and on the south is bounded by the English Channel, it is the most southern parish in the county. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

East Portlemouth, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Devon Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[2]
East Portlemouth, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1563-1878 1563-1878



Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

East Portlemouth on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 596-602. Date accessed: 01 July 2013.
  2. 'Devon Parish Records Coverage,' Findmypast, accessed 15 November 2014.