East Norton, Leicestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Leicestershire
Leicestershire Parishes
East Norton
Guide to East Norton, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
East Norton, Leicestershire
All Saints East Norton Leicestershire.jpg
All Saints East Norton, Leicestershire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Goscote
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Billesdon
Registration District Billesdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1690; For more records see Tugby
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Goscote
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Parish History

NORTON, EAST (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Billesdon, hundred of East Goscote, N. division of the county of Leicester, 6 miles (W. by N.) from Uppingham. [1]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described East Norton like this:
NORTON (East), a village and a parochial chapelry in Billesdon district, Leicester. The village stands in Eye brook valley, 2½ miles W of the boundary with Leicester, 5½ W of Uppingham, and 6 N of Medbourne-Bridge r. station. There is a Wesleyan chapel.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

East Norton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Leicestershire Parish Registers, 1533-1991 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Leicestershire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Leicestershire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Marr = Leicestershire Marriage Licences, 1604-1891 (FindMyPast) - ($)
MyH = Leicestershire Parish Births, Marriages, Burials (MyHeritage) - ($)
TGEN = Leicestershire Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
PC = Parish Chest - ($) Registers delivered by email.
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
East Norton Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1533-1991
1533-1991
1533-1991
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1538-1916
1537-1931
1538-1991
FMP Banns

1637-1940


FMP Marr

1604-1891


MyH 1510-1900s
1510-1900s
1510-1900s
TGEN

1550s-1900s


PC 1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
JOIN

1538-1837


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Leicestershire Record Office.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Billesdon Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 442-446. Date accessed: 06 September 2012.
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Leicestershire) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk