East Looe, Cornwall Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to East Looe, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

East Looe, Cornwall
St Martin-by-Looe-East.jpg
St Martin-by-Looe-East
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Liskeard
Registration District Liskeard
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery West
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

LOOE, EAST, a sea-port and incorporated market town, having separate jurisdiction, in the parish of St. Martin, union of Liskeard, locally in the hundred of West, E division of Cornwall, 16 miles W from Plymouth, and 232 WSW from London. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends and Wesleyans. [1]

East Looe St Martin

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

East Looe parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[2]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[6]
East Looe Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
COPC 1709-1810, 1846-1896
1854-1913
1927-1936
FMP 1846-1849
FREG 1846-1896
1850-1907
1927-1974
FS PRs 1850-1907 1927-1974
TGEN 1709-1807


Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 127

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Overview, Include any unique information, such as the census for X year were destroyed, Collection in FHL and link to catalog, Online sites.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Liskeard Poor Law Union

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction for this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records for the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 175-179. Date accessed: 23 March 2013
  2. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  3. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013. Ambiguously described as 'Looe.'
  4. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  5. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 22 May 2014.