To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

East Finchley, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to East Finchley, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

East Finchley Holy Trinity, in Finchley St Mary's Parish, was created a chapelry in the year 1846. The new cemeteries for St. Pancras, London, St. Mary, Islington, and St. Mary-le-Bone, are nearby and within the parish.[1]

Holy Trinity Chapelry was built in 1846.  The vicarage of Whetstone is a separate chapel--which see.

There were at least three dissenting churches within the parishes including an Independent chapel,built in 1865, with two additional unknown chapels.[2]

East Finchley had three pre-1900 district churches within itself, as part of the civil borough and parish of Finchley. These churches included the following:

  • Holy Trinity Church Lane which commenced by about 1846
  • All Saints Durham Road, East Finchley which began by about 1891
  • St Paul Long Lane, East Finchley which was built and in service by about 1886

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

East Finchley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Middlesex, Westminster, Parish Registers, 1538-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Middlesex Baptisms (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP London = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
East Finchley Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1912
1538-1912
1538-1912
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1543-1876




FMP London

1502-1871
1399-1992
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1917
1754-1932
1813-2003
ANC Marr

1597-1921


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web site[edit | edit source]

Finchleo on GENUKI

Resources[edit | edit source]

  1. John Marius Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-2 Date accessed and adapted 22 October 2013.
  2. 'Finchley: Churches', A History of the County of Middlesex: Volume 6: Friern Barnet, Finchley, Hornsey with Highgate (1980), pp. 82-86. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=22508 Date accessed: 13 February 2012
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk