East Ferry, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to East Ferry, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|East Ferry, Lincolnshire|
|Poor Law Union||Gainsborough|
|Parish registers: None; For records see Owston and also Scotton|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
FERRY, EAST, a chapelry, partly in the parish of Scotton, wapentake of Corringham, and partly in the parish of Owston, W. division of the wapentake of Manley, union of Gainsborough, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 7¼ miles (N. by E.) from Gainsborough. The chapel is dedicated to St. Mary. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,
St Rumbold Street
Enquiries: firstname.lastname@example.org The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Ferry, East (census only)
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 230-232. Date accessed: 16 August 2013.