To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

East Dean, Hampshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to East Dean, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

East Dean, Hampshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Thorngate
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Romsey
Registration District Romsey
Records begin
Parish registers: 1681; For more records see Mottisfont and also Lockerley
Bishop's Transcripts: 1705
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Somborne
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

EAN, EAST, a chapelry, in the parish of Mottisfont, union of Romsey, hundred of Thorngate, Romsey and S. divisions of the county of Southampton, 7¼ miles (N. W. by W.) from Romsey.[1].

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

East Dean, Hampshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = findmypast - (£)[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
EAST DEAN PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
PRTS 1780-1871
1780-1871
1780-1871


Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 15-23. Date accessed: 17 June 2013.
  2. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.