East Ayton, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to East Ayton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Parish History[edit | edit source]
AYTON, EAST, a chapelry, in the parish of Seamer, (near and in the) union of Scarborough, Pickering lythe, N. riding of York, 5 miles (S. W. by W.) from Scarborough; containing 362 inhabitants. The chapel is dedicated to St. John the Baptist. There is a place of worship for Primitive Methodists.
Seamer with Cayton and East Ayton is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire (which also see).
Other places in the parish include: Seamer St John the Baptist, Cayton, Irton, Cayton with Deepdale and Killerby, East Ayton, and Cayton near Scarborough.
Non-Church of England denominations identified in Seamer with Cayton and East Ayton include: Primitive Methodist and Wesleyan Methodist.
SEAMER (St Martin), a parish, in the union of Scarborough, Pickering lythe, N. riding of York; containing, with the townships of East Ayton and Irton, 1121 inhabitants, of whom 625 are in Seamer township, 4½ miles (S. W. by S.) from Scarborough. This parish was annexed (united) with the parish of Cayton (which see). There was also a chapel of ease built from at least the 14th century at East Ayton, called St John the Baptist (which also see). The Wesleyans have a place of worship here.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Online Records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from chapelry registers of East Ayton exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|EAST AYTON PARISH (1710) Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.