East Allington, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to East Allington, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|East Allington, Lincolnshire|
East Allington St Andrew Lincolnshire
|Hundred||Winnibriggs and Threo|
|Poor Law Union||Newark|
|Parish registers: 1559; For more records see Sedgebrook|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1590|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
The church photograph above is of St Andrews Church in East Allington, Devon and NOT of the (now demolished) church of St James that served East Allington, Lincolnshire. Although the church has gone the graveyard remains. The two parts of Allington are now served by Holy Trinity Church.
ALLINGTON, EAST (St. James), a parish, in the union of Newark, wapentake of Winnibriggs and Threo, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 5 miles (N. W.) from Grantham.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This parish was from 1837 within Newark registration district
Following re-organisation of local government historical registration was transferred to Lincolnshire
Certificates can be obtained from:
PO Box 760
Phone: 01522 782244
Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,
St Rumbold Street
Enquiries: email@example.com The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.
The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms East Allington Par 1 will identify available images.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Allington, East
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
East Allington in Genuki links to West Allington
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848); Date accessed: 30 April 2012.