Earl Shilton, Leicestershire Genealogy
Guide to Earl Shilton, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Earl Shilton, Leicestershire|
St Simon & St Jude Earl, Shilton Leicestershire
|Poor Law Union||Hinckley|
|Parish registers: 1552; For more records see Kirkby Mallory|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1570|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester|
|Location of Archive|
|Leicestershire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
EARL-SHILTON, a chapelry, in the parish of Kirby-Mallory [which also see], union of Hinckley, hundred of Sparkenhoe, S. division of the county of Leicester, 3¾ miles (N. E.) from Hinckley. The chapel is dedicated to St. Peter. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Earl Shilton, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.|
|Earl Shilton, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office
Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
Diocese of Leicester: Earl Shilton Bap 1552 - 1959 Marr 1552 - 1990 (Banns to1994) Bur 1552 – 1919
In addition the Office has records of Non Conformist congretations:
Independent Births and Baptisms 1810-1838 reference MF 13(8) or R47
Methodist (Wood St.) Marr 1951-1963 reference N/M/142/140-141
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.