To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Ealing St Mary, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Ealing St Mary, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ealing St Mary, Middlesex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Kensington Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Brentford
Registration District Brentford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1582
Bishop's Transcripts: 1630; 1639; 1663; 1801
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

'EALING, a village and a parish in Brentford district, Middlesex. The village stands adjacent to the Great Western railway, 1½ mile N by E of Brentford; has a station on the railway with telegraph, a post office under London W, and a police station; and was formerly called Yelling. The parish contains also the hamlet of Little Ealing and the chapelry of Old Brentford. Acres, 3, 814. Real property, £58, 681; of which £3, 950 are in gas-works. Pop. in 1851, 9, 828; in 1861, 11, 963. Houses, 2, 336. Pop., exclusive of Old Brentford chapelry, 5, 215. The rated property, exclusive of Old Brentford, amounts to £28, 952, and is not much divided. The manor belongs to the Bishop of London; and part of the land is common. Ealing Grove was the seat of the Gulstons; Ealing Green was the seat of Sir J. Soane; Ealing Park was the seat and death-place of Bishop Z. Pearce; Castle-Beare belonged to the Duke of Kent; and Gunnersbury Park is the seat of Baron Rothschild. Dr. Owen, Peter le Conrager, Perceval, and Fielding were residents. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of London. Value, £679.* Patron, the Bishop of London. The church was rebuilt in 1740, and was highly improved in 1866. The vicarages of Christchurch, St. Paul, and old Brentford are separate benefices. Christchurch was constituted in 1852; St. Paul, in 1864. Pop. of Christ-church, 3, 324; of St. Paul, 4, 409. Value of Christ-church vicarage, £300;* of St. Paul's, £300. Patron of C., the Bishop; of St. P., alternately the Crown and the Bishop. Two temporary churches, St. John and St. Stephen, were built in 1867. A new Independent chapel, in the Gothic style, was built in 1861, at a cost of £5, 000. Two chapels, Baptist and Wesleyan, were built in 1865. Lady Capel's boys' school has £149 from endowment; Lady Rawlinson's girls' school has £144; charities, £274.'[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Ealing St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Middlesex, Westminster, Parish Registers, 1538-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Middlesex Baptisms (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP London = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Ealing St Mary Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1912
1538-1912
1538-1912
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1543-1876




FMP London

1502-1871
1399-1992
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1917
1754-1932
1813-2003
ANC Marr

1597-1921


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census and Inhabitants Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


1600 Lay Subsidy[edit | edit source]
Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]
  • Allison, K.J. Ealing in the XVIIth Century: Hearth Tax Assessments for Ealing, Greenford, Hanwell, Northolt and Perivale. London: Ealing Local History Society, 1963. FHL Book 942.1 B4e no. 4.

Manorial Records[edit | edit source]

Records survive for two manors in Ealing Parish: Boston Manor (1529-c1850) and Ealing Manor (1362-1897). The Manorial Documents Register will help you locate these records.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (Edinburgh: A. Fullerton and Co., 1870). Digital version at of Britain.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk