Duval County, Florida Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Duval County, Florida ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Jacksonville
Organized: August 12, 1822
Parent County(s): St. Johns[1]
Neighboring Counties
Baker  • Clay  • Nassau  • St. Johns  •
See County Maps
Courthouse
Florida Duval Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Fl-duval.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Flgenlogo100.png This page adopted by:
The FLGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for William Pope DuVal. DuVal was a territorial governor from 1822-1834. Prior to European arrival, the area was inhabited by indigenous people, the Timucua and Mocama.[2] The County is located in the Northeast area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Duval County Courthouse
330 E Bay Street
Jacksonville, FL 32202
Phone: 904-630-2028
Duval County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records from 1921.
County Judge has marriage and probate records. [4]

Duval County, Florida Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1893 1822 1901 1921 1921 1905 1830
*Statewide registration of births and deaths began in 1899. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Civil War and 1901 - Duval County Courthouse was burned both during the Civil War, and later in 1901. The extent of the record loss is unknown.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

On October 1, 1968, Duval County and the City of Jacksonville consolidated their governments into one single entity.[7] Jacksonville Beach, Atlantic Beach, Neptune Beach and Baldwin still maintain independent municipality status in Duval County. Besides these exceptions, all communities within Duval County were incorporated into Jacksonville City.[8] Therefore, several neighborhoods and communities within a city exist today in Duval County. For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in Duval County:[9]

Cities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Biographies at Duval Co These biographical sketches are of some of the representative business and professional men, who have been prominent factors in the building up of the Florida Metropolis, and giving it credit and standing among men. Duval County FLGenWeb.

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Duval, Florida online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Florida Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites may have additional information on Duval County cemeteries.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1830 1,970
1840 4,156 111.0%
1850 4,539 9.2%
1860 5,074 11.8%
1870 11,921 134.9%
1880 19,431 63.0%
1890 26,800 37.9%
1900 39,733 48.3%
1910 75,163 89.2%
1920 113,540 51.1%
1930 155,503 37.0%
1940 210,143 35.1%
1950 304,029 44.7%
1960 455,411 49.8%
1970 528,865 16.1%
1980 571,003 8.0%
1990 672,971 17.9%
2000 778,879 15.7%
2010 864,263 11.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing census records online, see: Florida Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.

Ward and Branch Records (The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints)

  • Jacksonville
  • Panama Park
  • Springfield
  • Wesconnett

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Online Indexes and Records

|How to Use this Collection]]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for most counties. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

GeorgiaNassau CountySt. Johns CountyClay CountyBaker CountyFL DUVAL.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Duval County:

October 1-3, 1862 - St. John’s Bluff[10]
Map showing Civil War battles in Florida.

World War I

World War II

Korean War

Vietnam War

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

African-American Newspapers of Florida

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, Florida State Archives, or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Duval County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Florida Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Libraries

Jacksonville Florida East Family History Center
7665 Fort Caroline Rd
Jacksonville FL 32277-2214
Phone: 904-743-0527
Email: FL_Jacksonvilleeast@familyhistorymail.org
Website

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Duval County. For state-wide library facilities, see Florida Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Beaches Museum
381 Beach Boulevard
Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250
Phone: 904-241-5657
E-mail:info@beachesmuseum.org
Website

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Duval County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Florida Societies.
Jacksonville Genealogical Society
PO Box 60756
Jacksonville, Florida 32236-0756
E-mail:info@jaxgen.org
Website

Jacksonville Historical Society
314 North Palmetto Street
Jacksonville, FL 32202-2217
Phone: 904-374-0296
Facebook Website

Southern Genealogist's Exchange Society
6215 Sauterne Drive
PO Box 2801
Jacksonville, FL 32203-2801
Phone: 904-778-1000
Website

Florida Historical Society
Website

Florida State Genealogical Society
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

45px
The usage of "Mormon" and "LDS" on this page is approved according to current policy.


Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Duval County, Florida Genealogy and History”, GenealogyTrails accessed 04/24/2017.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Duval County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, wikipedia 04/24/2017.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Jacksonville Consolidation," in "Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia," wikipedia accessed 10 October 2018.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Government of Jacksonville," in "Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia," wikipedia accessed 10 October 2018.
  9. Wikipedia contributors, "Duval County, Florida," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, County, Florida, wikipedia accessed 5 December, 2018.
  10. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State