Dunn County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wisconsin
Dunn County


Guide to Dunn County, Wisconsin ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Menomonie
Organized: February 3, 1854
Parent County(s): Chippewa[1]
Neighboring Counties
Barron  • Chippewa  • Eau Claire  • Pepin  • Pierce  • Polk  • St. Croix
See County Maps
Courthouse
Menomonie Dunn Govt.jpg
Location Map
WI Dunn.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Charles Dunn. The County has Menomonie as its seat and the County was created 1857. The County is located in the northwest area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Dunn County Courthouse
800 Wilson Avenue
Menomonie, WI 64751-2785
Phone: 715-232-1677
Dunn County Website

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage and death records from 1860 and land records.[3]

Dunn County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1860 1860 1860 1859 1877 1858 1820
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1907. General compliance year unknown.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1854--Dunn County was created 3 February 1854 from Chippewa County.
  • County seat: Menomonie[5]

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Dunn County, Wisconsin: [6]

Cities
Towns
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Ghost towns


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Dunn County, Wisconsin online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1860 2,704
1870 9,488 250.9%
1880 16,817 77.2%
1890 22,664 34.8%
1900 25,043 10.5%
1910 25,260 0.9%
1920 26,970 6.8%
1930 27,037 0.2%
1940 27,375 1.3%
1950 27,341 −0.1%
1960 26,156 −4.3%
1970 29,154 11.5%
1980 34,314 17.7%
1990 35,909 4.6%
2000 39,858 11.0%
2010 43,857 10.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Dunn census records online, see: Wisconsin Census.

State Census

Federal Census
NOTE: Dunn County was part of Chippewa County until 1854

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wisconsin denominations, view the Wisconsin Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran

  • Records of Our Savior's Lutheran Church, Wheeler, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Wisconsin Land and Property for additional information about early Wisconsin land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Dunn County Register of Deeds 800 Wilson Avenue Room 135 Menomonie, WI 54751 Phone: (715) 232-1228 Fax: (715) 232-1229 Email: rod@co.dunn.wi.us

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

WI DUNN.JPG

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Dunn served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Dunn:

- 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company L
- 5th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Companies A, F and K
- 5th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry Reorganized, Companies B and C

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Dunn Clerk of Circuit Court and are housed at the Dunn Courthouse. See the wiki page Wisconsin Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Wisconsin tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned property or other items that could be taxed were listed, some residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records. For more information see the Wiki page, Wisconsin Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Most counties started keeping records in the 1870s. In 1907, the counties began sending copies to the state.

For pre-1907 births, deaths, and marriages, search the Wisconsin Genealogy Index.

For additional information, see Wisconsin Vital Records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

  • University Archives/Area Research Center
    Robert S. Swanson Library, University of Wisconsin, Stout
    315 Tenth Ave.
    Menomonie, WI 54751
    Phone: 715-232-2300
    Email: archives@uwstout.edu
    Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Robert S. Swanson Library, University of Wisconsin, Stout
    University Archives/Area Research Center
    315 Tenth Ave.
    Menomonie, WI 54751
    Phone: 715-232-2300
    Email: archives@uwstout.edu
    Website

Museums

  • Heritage Museum
    1820 Wakanda Street
    PO Box 437
    Menomonie, WI 54751
    Phone: 715-232-8685
    Website

Societies

  • Dunn County Genealogical Society
    (located at the Historical Society & Museum below)
    Website
  • Dunn County Historical Society
    PO Box 437
    Menomonie, WI 54751
    Phone: 715-232-8685
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Dunn County, Wisconsin " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dunn_County,_Wisconsin."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dunn County, Wisconsin. Page 755-760, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 757-759.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Dunn County, Wisconsin," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dunn_County,_Wisconsin, accessed 6 September 2018.