Dunn County, North Dakota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
North Dakota
Dunn County

Guide to Dunn County, North Dakota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Facts
County seat: Manning
Organized: May 24, 1901
Parent County(s): Stark [1]
Neighboring Counties
Billings  • Mckenzie  • Mclean  • Mercer  • Mountrail  • Stark
See County Maps
Courthouse
NorthDakotaDunnCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
North Dakota Dunn Map.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

Dunn county was named for John Piatt Dunn of Bismarck (1839-1917), an 1872 arrival who opened the first drug store in North Dakota and was a civic and commercial leader during the city's early years. The county seat is Manning.[2] The county government was organized on February 10, 1908.[3]

County Courthouse

Dunn County Courthouse
205 Owens Street
PO Box 136
Manning, ND 58642
Phone: 701.573.4447
Dunn County Website

Clerk District Court has marriage, probate, divorce and court records from 1908 and military discharge records from 1919; Register of Deeds has land records from 1900; State Historical Society has naturalization records[4]

Dunn County, North Dakota Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1870 1908 1881 1908 1900 1908 1836
*State Dept. of Vital Records started births and deaths in 1923.
Full compliance by 1924.[6]

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county[8]

Cities
Unincorporated communites
Census-designated places


Indian Reservation

A portion of the Fort Berthold Indian Reservation is located in Dunn County. The remainder of the reservation is in Mountrail, McKenzie, Mercer, and Ward Counties.

See also

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Roshua cemetery inscriptions providing the name, date of birth and date of death where available.

Cemeteries of Adams County, North Dakota online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Dakota Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1890 159
1910 5,302 3234.6%
1920 8,828 66.5%
1930 9,566 8.4%
1940 8,376 −12.4%
1950 7,212 −13.9%
1960 6,350 −12.0%
1970 4,895 −22.9%
1980 4,627 −5.5%
1990 4,005 −13.4%
2000 3,600 −10.1%
2010 3,536 −1.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Before North Dakota was a state in 1889, parts of North Dakota were included in the 1836 Iowa Territory census (also known as Wisconsin Territory), 1840 Iowa Territory census, 1850 Minnesota Territory census, and the 1860-1880 Dakota Territory censuses.[9] See links listed below.

Territory and State Census Records

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for the state of North Dakota starting in 1890, although no records survived. The 1900 Census is the next Federal Census available. For links to Federal census indexes, see North Dakota Census.

Church Records

Church records can be found online, kept onsite at the church, or housed in a church archive or library. See North Dakota Church Records for more information on how to locate the records.

Online Church Records
Lutheran Church

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

When the United States acquired North Dakota, most of the land became available for homesteading or purchase from the federal government. After land was transferred from the government to private owners, the registrar of deeds in each county recorded the land transactions in the form of deeds and mortgages. For more information, see North Dakota Land and Property.

Online Land Records

For more information see North Dakota Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories, including those of the county, are available for Dunn County. These histories can include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information.

Maps and Gazetteers

McKenzie CountyMountrail CountyMercer CountyMcLean CountyBillings CountyStark CountyND DUNN.JPG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration

Military Records

Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in Dunn County.

  • July 28-29, 1864 = Killdeer Mountain, also known as Tahkahokuty Mountain[10]
  • Map showing Civil War battles in North Dakota.

Online Collections

These collections are unique to North Dakota. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and North Dakota Military Records.

Civil War

Indian Wars

World War I

World War II

Korean War

For further information see North Dakota Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers

For more information, see North Dakota Newspapers.

North Dakota Newspapers Online

North Dakota Newspaper Catalogs

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records, including wills and estates, are at the county clerk's office. See also North Dakota Probate Records.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

County tax records are at the county treasurer's, auditor's or clerk's office in the county courthouse. Some tax records may have been moved to the North Dakota State Archives.

Vital Records

Birth, marriage, death, and divorce records may be recorded on registers, certificates, or other documents at the county clerk's office. Many records are also being digitized and put online. See North Dakota Vital Records for more information about availability and how to access them.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

North Dakota State University Archives]
West Building 3551 7th Avenue
NFargo, ND 58102

Mailing Address:
NDSU Archives
Libraries NDSU Dept #2080
PO Box6050
Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Phone: 701-231-8914
Fax: 701-231-5632
Email: mailto:ndsu.archives@ndsu.edu
Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Dunn County Historical Society
153 Museum Trail
PO Box 86
Dunn Center, ND 58626
Telephone: 701-548-8111
E-mail: dunncountymuseum@ndsupernet.com
Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Dunn County, North Dakota (Genealogy Trails)
  3. Wikipedia, "Dunn County, North Dakota"
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dunn County, North Dakota. Page 523 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dunn County, North Dakota. Page 523 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 517.
  6. Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Rev. ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 1992), 562; Alice M. Hetzel, U.S. Vital Statistics System: Major Activities and Developments, 1950-95 (Hyattsville, Md.: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Health Statistics, [1997]), 58.
  7. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Dunn County, North Dakota" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia.
  9. Alice Eichholz, ‘’Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources,’’ 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 2004), 511. Free online version; FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004; WorldCat entry.
  10. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State.