Duloe, Cornwall Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Duloe, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Duloe, Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Liskeard
Registration District Liskeard
Records begin
Parish registers: 1668
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery West
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

DULOE (St. Cuby), a parish, in the union of Liskeard, hundred of West, E division of the county of Cornwall, 3¾ miles NNW from West Looe.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Duloe parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[4][5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[8]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[9]
Duloe Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1607-1673

COPC 1686-1837, 1846-1913
1668-1836
1686-1772, 1801-1837, 1867-1938
1607-1837 1813-1837
FREG 1607-1840
1607-1837
1607-1837
FS PRs 1607-1837 1607-1837 1607-1837
IGI 1607-1837 1607-1837

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 51

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]

The Duloe section of the OPC website contains many records.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Liskeard Poor Law Union

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites[edit | edit source]

Duloe in GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., ATopographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 96-102 Date accessed: 11 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987).
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  9. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.