Duffield, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Duffield, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Duffield St Alkmund Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Belper|
|Parish registers: 1598|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1663|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
DUFFIELD (St. Alkmund), a parish, in the union of Belper, hundred of Appletree, S. division of the county of Derby, 4¼ miles (N.) from Derby; comprising the chapelries of Belper, Heage, Holbrook, and Turnditch, and the townships of Duffield, Hazlewood, Shottle with Postern, and Windley. The parish comprises 17,390 acres, of which 3002 are in the township of Duffield; it is situated on the road from Derby to Matlock, and contains, besides several populous villages, the market-town of Belper. There are churches at Belper, Hazlewood, Heage, Holbrook, and Turnditch; and the Ecclesiastical Commissioners have endowed two church districts, named respectively Bridge-Hill and Milford, and both in the patronage of the Crown and the Bishop, alternately. The Baptists, Wesleyans, and others have places of worship. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Duffield parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Duffield Parish Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Duffield St Alkmund
The following chapelries (now parishes) were all part of Duffield, but kept separate chapelry registers of baptisms and burials until the date shown:
- Belper until 1846,
- Hazlewood until 1846,
- Turnditch until 1847
- Milford until 1848
- Heage until 1858
- Holbrook until 1863, and
- Windley until 1922.
Derbyshire Record Office reference D2402 has deposited registers Baptisms 1598-1980, Marriages 1598-1986, Burials 1598-1960. and Banns 1754-1773. 1880-1989.
Family History Library has for Duffield parish:
parish registers: Baptisms 1598-1963, Marriages 1598-1914, and Burials 1598-1829, plus 1951 and 1966.
bishop's transcripts: Baptisms 1663-1883 (with gaps), Marriages 1663-1828 (with gaps), and Burials 1663-1883 (with gaps)
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- General Baptist
- Wesleyan Methodist
Many of the non-conformist churches around Duffield are actually filed under Belper.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Duffield on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 96-102. Date accessed: 15 April 2013.