Drew County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Drew County, Arkansas)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Drew County
 

Guide to Drew County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Monticello
Organized: November 26, 1846
Parent County(s): Arkansas and Bradley[1]
Neighboring Counties
Ashley  • Bradley  • Chicot  • Cleveland  • Desha  • Lincoln
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasDrewCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-drew.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The county was named for Thomas Drew, the 3rd governor of Arkansas. The County Seat is Monticello and was founded November 26, 1846.[2] It is located in the southeast of the state.[3]

County Courthouse

Drew County Courthouse
210 S Main Street
Monticello, AR 71655
Phone: 870.460.6260
Drew County Website

County Clerk has marriage and probate records.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, military and court records;
County Assessor has land records.[4]

Drew County, Arkansas

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1847 1914* 1847 1847 1847 1830
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1846--Drew County was created 26 November 1846 from Arkansas and Bradley Counties.
  • County seat: Monticello[6]

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Cities
Towns
Townships
  • Cominto
  • Crook
  • Franklin
  • Live Oak
  • Marion
  • Saline
  • Spring Hill
  • Veasey


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Drew County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [8]

  • 1824 - In a treaty, the Quapaw agreed to sell their land and move.
  • 1837 - As early as 1837, American settlers had gathered in a village called Rough and Ready, located within a mile of the present-day county seat, Monticello.
  • 1846 November 26 - Drew County was formed.
  • 1910-2010 - The population of Drew County hit its peak in 1910 with 22,000. It had dropped to 15,000 by 1970 and had a slow recovery to 18,500 in 2010.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Drew, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1850 3,276
1860 9,078 177.1%
1870 9,960 9.7%
1880 12,231 22.8%
1890 17,352 41.9%
1900 19,451 12.1%
1910 21,960 12.9%
1920 21,822 −0.6%
1930 19,928 −8.7%
1940 19,831 −0.5%
1950 17,959 −9.4%
1960 15,213 −15.3%
1970 15,157 −0.4%
1980 17,910 18.2%
1990 17,369 −3.0%
2000 18,723 7.8%
2010 18,509 −1.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Southern Arkansas. Chicago, IL, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1890. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Maps and Gazetteers

Cleveland CountyLincoln CountyDesha CountyChicot CountyBradley CountyAshley CountyAR DREW.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Drew County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Colquitt's) (Confederate)
- 3rd Consolidated Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 6th Battalion Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate), Companies A, B and L
- 8th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 26th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Companies A, B and E

Online Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Drew County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth

Birth Records reveal
Yes or Maybe
 Y  M
Name of Child Green check.png  
Birth Date and Place Green check.png  
Parent's Names Green check.png  
Mother's Maiden Name   Green check.png
Parent's Ages Green check.png  
Father's Occupation Green check.png  
Current Residence Green check.png  
Name of Doctor or Midwife Green check.png  

In 1877, a few county and city clerks[10] started keeping birth and death records.

In 1914, the state law required all county clerks to record births and forward them to the state.

ArrowGreen.svg.png
See also: • Arkansas Online Genealogy Records, • How to Find Arkansas Birth Records and • Arkansas Vital Records—Birth.

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Drew County, Arkansas Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ark/drew/
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Drew County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Drew_County,_Arkansas
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Drew County, Arkansas. Page 67 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 65.
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Drew County, Arkansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Drew_County,_Arkansas, accessed 12 September 2018.
  8. Mary Heady, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=766&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent= : accessed January 13, 2016), “Drew County.”
  9. Calvin L. Collier, They'll do to Tie To: the story of the Third Regiment, Arkansas Infantry, C.S.A.,(Little Rock, Arkansas: Civil War Round Table Associates, 1959) p. 10. FHL book 976.7 M2c
  10. such as Sebastian County (Fort Smith) and Pulaski County (Little Rock) (No entry in FamilySearch Catalog found for Pulaski County nor for Little Rock, Aug 2014)
  11. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.
  12. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5c/Igiarkansasad.pdf.