Downholme, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Downholme, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Richmond|
|Registration District||Reeth; Richmond|
|Parish registers: 1736|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1678|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Catterick|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Downholme St Michael and All Saints is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire. Other places in the parish include: Ellberton Abbey, Ellerton Abbey, Walburn, Stainton near Richmond, and Stainton.
DOWNHOLME (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Richmond, wapentake of Hang-West, N.riding of York; consisting of the townships of Downholme, Ellerton-Abbey, Stainton, and Walburn; 121 are in the township of Downholme, 4¾ miles (S. W. by W.) from Richmond. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Downholme exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|DOWNHOLME PARISH (1813) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Downholme to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the DOWNHOLME PARISH page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1736.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 84-88. Date accessed: 14 November 2013.