Dovercourt, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Essex
Essex Parishes
Dovercourt


Guide to Dovercourt, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Dovercourt, Essex
All Saints Dovercourt, Essex .jpg
All Saints Dovercourt, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Harwich Borough
County Essex
Poor Law Union Tendring
Registration District Tendring
Records begin
Parish registers: 1706
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Harwich
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Colchester
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Dover Court also spelled Dovercourt, is a parish Tendring district, Essex; at the mouth of the estuary of the river Stour, and on the Harwich branch of the Eastern Union railway, it is 2 miles WSW of Harwich.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Dovercourt, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
Dovercourt, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1706-1943 1706-1945 1706-1981
FREG 1813-1837 1813-1851
NBI 1878-2002

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office for both Anglican parishes for the town.

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Non-Conformist Records

See Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office for all deposited records for Dovercourt Congregational Church, Kingsway Evangelical Church, Main Road Primitive Methodist Church and Main Road Wesleyan Methodist Church.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Tendring Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Dovercourt on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (London and Edinburgh, 1870). Adapted: Date Accessed 17 May 2013
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  3. Essex Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 4 September 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 15 May 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 15 May 2012.