Douglasville Georgia Family History Center

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

United States Genealogy Gotoarrow.png Georgia Gotoarrow.png Archives and Libraries Gotoarrow.png Douglasville Family History Center

FamilySearch This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.


Center Contacts and Hours[edit | edit source]

Location Map:

Address:

  • 3027 Chapel Hill Rd Douglasville GA 30135 United States
  • Please use the parking lot entrance in the back of the building.
  • Language:English

Phone:

Open Hours:

The Family History Center will be closed until further notice. Hopefully it will be open in April, 2020.

Holiday Schedule:

Closed Nov 24- 29 and December 25 and January 1


Calendar and Events[edit | edit source]

Upcoming Events[edit | edit source]

Class Schedule[edit | edit source]

FamilySeach tips and

Staff Training Meetings[edit | edit source]


Center Resources[edit | edit source]

Collections[edit | edit source]

Databases and Software[edit | edit source]

  • Family History Center Portal This center has access to the Family History Center Portal page which gives free access in the center to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
    • 19th Centry British Library Newspaper Digital Archive
    • Access Newspaper Archive
    • Alexander Street Press - The American Civil War
    • Ancestry.com
    • ArkivDigital Online - Swedish Genealogy
    • Findmypast
    • Fold3.com (previously known as Footnote.com)
    • The Genealogist
    • Godfrey Memorial Library
    • Hertiage Quest Online
    • Historic Map Works Library Edition
    • Paper Trail
    • World Vital Records

Hardware and Equipment[edit | edit source]

There are 5 computers with portal access, and a networked scanner/printer that can upload photos directly to FamilySearch.org/Memories.

Resources in the Local Area[edit | edit source]

Resources Outside Local Area[edit | edit source]

Browse by Country
England
France
Italy
Mexico
Sweden
United Kingdom
USA

Links[edit | edit source]

Green check.png
The usage of "Mormon" and "LDS" on this page is approved according to current policy.


National Links:

Other Family History and Library Centers and Resources[edit | edit source]


Volunteer at the Center[edit | edit source]

If you are interested in volunteering to help in the center please contact Dr. Norm Brazel, ga_douglasville@familyhistorymail.org


Family Search Blog[edit | edit source]

A terrific resource to keep up on what is going on and available in Family Search FamilySearch Blog

The Family History Guide[edit | edit source]

An online tutorial on how to use the features on the FamilySearch.org website.

http://thefhguide.com

Get Acquainted with the Family Search Wiki (WIK-ee)[edit | edit source]

Family Search users don’t always think to look at this valuable tool because they aren’t sure what it is and how valuable it can be to our research efforts. So, in Family Search’s words: “The FamilySearch Wiki is not about finding the names of your ancestors. It is not, in fact, about finding people at all.

  • The Wiki is about finding records that may have been generated about your ancestors and the places in which the records might be found.
    *It is a vast record depository of the paper trail that people leave behind long after they are gone.
    *The Wiki has records from the United States as well as from 244 countries.
    *Here you will be able to find documents such as census records, marriage records, birth records and death records and much more.
    *Probate documents are often very informative and may help you in your search. There is an extensive list of United States military records on the Wiki .”

Recently a friend in Illinois went into the FamilySearch Wiki and found phone numbers for the Surrogate Court in New York that held wills. She found six missing wills!

Take time to explore the opening page of this site there are tutuorials and examples and lots of help in learning the Wiki. Got stuck in your research? Look to the Wiki for help. How do I find the FamilySearch Wiki?

  • Familysearch.org Search (drop down menu) Wiki
    *(open FamilySearch.org and go to Search at top of page which will give you a dropdown menu and then click on Wiki)
    *How to Use the Wiki -- Wiki_Help
    *About the Wiki -- Find an ancestor using the wiki

Family Search Apps for Smart Phones and Tablets[edit | edit source]

FamilySearch Apps

Family Search Hacks to Help Find Temple Names Faster[edit | edit source]

5 FamilySearch Hacks

Unreserved Reservations after Two Years[edit | edit source]

Unreserving Reservations After Two Years