Douglas County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wisconsin
Douglas County


Guide to Douglas County, Wisconsin ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Superior
Organized: February 9, 1854
Parent County(s): La Pointe[1]
Neighboring Counties
Bayfield  • Burnett  • Carlton (MN)  • Pine (MN)  • St. Louis (MN)  • Sawyer  • Washburn
See County Maps
Courthouse
Superior Douglas Cty Court.jpg
Location Map
WI Douglas.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Stephen A. Douglas. The County has Superior as its seat and the County was created February 8, 1854. The County is located in the northwest area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Douglas County Courthouse
1313 Belknap Street
Superior, WI 54880-2769
Phone: 715-395-1341
Douglas County Website

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage and death records from 1878 and land records.
Clerk of Courts has divorce, probate and court records from 1878. [3]

Douglas County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1878 1878 1878 1878 1854 1878 1820
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1907. General compliance year unknown.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1854--Douglas County was created 9 February 1854 from La Pointe County.
  • County seat: Superior[5]

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Douglas County, Wisconsin: [6]

Cities
Towns
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Ghost towns
  • Merriam
  • Millcrest
  • Morrison (Allouez)
  • New Bristol (Martinson)
  • Nutt
  • Pokegama Junction
  • Steele
  • Troy
  • Walbridge
  • Way
  • Wiehe


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Douglas County, Wisconsin online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1860 812
1870 1,122 38.2%
1880 655 −41.6%
1890 13,468 1956.2%
1900 36,335 169.8%
1910 47,422 30.5%
1920 49,771 5.0%
1930 46,583 −6.4%
1940 47,119 1.2%
1950 46,715 −0.9%
1960 45,008 −3.7%
1970 44,657 −0.8%
1980 44,421 −0.5%
1990 41,758 −6.0%
2000 43,287 3.7%
2010 44,159 2.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Douglas census records online, see: Wisconsin Census.

State Census

  • 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
  • 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census.Identifies by name of head of household. Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.

Federal Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wisconsin denominations, view the Wisconsin Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran

  • Records of Zion Lutheran Church, Superior, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Wisconsin Land and Property for additional information about early Wisconsin land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

  • Wisconsin Land Patents Database, Douglas County - USGenWeb Archives

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

WI DOUGLAS.JPG

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Douglas served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Douglas:

- 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company E

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Douglas Clerk of Circuit Court and are housed at the Douglas Courthouse. See the wiki page Wisconsin Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Wisconsin tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned property or other items that could be taxed were listed, some residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records. For more information see the Wiki page, Wisconsin Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Most counties started keeping records in the 1870s. In 1907, the counties began sending copies to the state.

For pre-1907 births, deaths, and marriages, search the Wisconsin Genealogy Index.

For additional information, see Wisconsin Vital Records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

  • Area Research Center
    Jim Dan Hill Library, University of Wisconsin, Superior
    Belknap and Catlin
    P.O. Box 2000
    907 N. 19th St.
    Superior, WI 54880
    Telephone: 715-394-8359
    archives@uwsuper.edu
    Website
    Facebook

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Jim Dan Hill Library, University of Wisconsin, Superior
    Area Research Center
    Belknap and Catlin
    P.O. Box 2000
    907 N. 19th St.
    Superior, WI 54880
    Telephone: 715-394-8359
    archives@uwsuper.edu
    Website
    Facebook

Museums

Societies

  • Douglas County Historical Society
    1011 John Ave
    Superior, WI 54880
    Phone: 715-392-8449
    Website
    Website
  • Gordon-Wascott Historical Society and Museum
    9672E Hwy Y
    Gordon, WI 54838
    Phone: 715-376-4249
    Email: deadskunk@centurytel.net
  • Old-Brule Heritage Society, Inc
    PO Box 24
    Maple, WI 5485
    Website
  • Solon Springs Historical Society
    10732 S Rocky Hill Rd
    Solon Springs, WI 54873
    Phone: 715-378-4296
  • Twin Ports Genealogical Society
    PO Box 16895
    Duluth, MI 55816-0895
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Douglas County, Wisconsin " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Douglas_County,_Wisconsin."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Douglas County, Wisconsin. Page 755-760, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 757-759.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Douglas County, Wisconsin," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Douglas_County,_Wisconsin, accessed 6 September 2018.