Douglas County, Oregon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Oregon
Douglas County

Guide to Douglas County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Douglas County, Oregon
Map
Map of Oregon highlighting Douglas County
Location in the state of Oregon
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 7, 1852
County Seat Roseburg
Courthouse
Or-douglas-ch.jpg
Address Douglas County Courthouse
1036 SE Douglas Street Rm 221
Roseburg, OR 97470
Phone: 541.440.4324
Douglas County Website



County Information


Douglas County, Oregon Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1903 1852 1860 1851 1852

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage, burial, divorce, land, probate, military discharge
and court records from 1853 and naturalization records from 1850.[1]

Records Held at the Courthouse

  • Record Loss:

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Oregon, Douglas County Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Quick Facts

Douglas-stephena.jpg

Named for U.S. Senator Stephen A. Douglas of Illinois.

Trivia Tidbits: Little biographic bits associated with the names of non-population localities.

Parent County

7 January 1852: Created from the part of Umpqua County lying east of Coast Range summit. [2]

Boundary Changes

11 January 1854: Part was taken to form Wasco County.

1856: Camas Valley of Umpqua County was annexed to Douglas County.

1862: Douglas County absorbed the remaining parts of Umpqua County.

1915: Boundary adjustments were made with Jackson and Lane counties.

For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Canyonville | Drain | Elkton | Glendale | Myrtle Creek | Oakland | Reedsport | Riddle | Roseburg | Sutherlin | Winston | Yoncalla

Communities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Ash | Azalea | Camas Valley | Curtin | Days Creek | Gardiner | Glide | Green | Scottsburg | Tenmile | Tiller | Umpqua | Winchester

Neighboring Counties

Coos | Curry | Jackson | Josephine | Klamath | Lane

Trivia Tidbits

Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
ORGenWeb Archives WorldCat Billion Graves
Tombstone Project
ORInterment
ORGravestones
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Oregon Cemeteries for more information.

Census

  • 1860
  • 1870
  • 1880
  • 1890
  • 1900
  • 1910
  • 1920
  • 1930

Territorial

  • 1853 Territorial Transcription and Index

Church History and Records

Court Records

Gazetteers

History

Land and Property

Maps

Ordouglas.jpg

Military History and Records

Civil War

Newspapers

Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.

Probate Records

Online Records

Rivers and Waterways

Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways

Taxation

Vital Records

The Family History Library has copies of some county records as following:

Douglas County coroner inquests, 1896 to 1946

See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Birth

Societies, Libraries and Museums

Genealogical Society-Douglas
1036 SE Douglas Ave # 111
Roseburg, OR 97470
Telephone: 541-440-6178
Website

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Oregon, Couglas County Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Douglas County Oregon Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Douglas County, Oregon page 572, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. WorldCat 50140092FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)