Douglas County, Nebraska Genealogy
Guide to Douglas County, Nebraska ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 County Information
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Bible Records
- 2.2 Biographies
- 2.3 Business, Commerce, and Occupations
- 2.4 Cemeteries
- 2.5 Census Records
- 2.6 Church Records
- 2.7 Court Records
- 2.8 Directories
- 2.9 Emigration and Immigration
- 2.10 Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
- 2.11 Funeral Homes
- 2.12 Genealogies
- 2.13 Guardianship
- 2.14 Land and Property Records
- 2.15 Local Histories
- 2.16 Maps and Gazetteers
- 2.17 Migration
- 2.18 Military Records
- 2.19 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 2.20 Newspapers
- 2.21 Obituaries
- 2.22 Other Records
- 2.23 Periodicals
- 2.24 Probate Records
- 2.25 School Records
- 2.26 Tax Records
- 2.27 Vital Records
- 3 Research Facilities
- 4 Societies
- 5 Websites
- 6 Research Guides
- 7 References
Douglas County was established in 1855. It was named after Stephen A. Douglas (1813-1861), U.S. Senator from Illinois. Its county seat is Omaha, the state's largest city. 
Douglas County Courthouse
Hall of Justice
1701 Farnam Street, #300
Omaha, NE 68102
Douglas County Website
County Judge has marriage and probate records.
Clerk District Court has divorce records.
County Clerk has military discharge records. 
Douglas County, Nebraska Record Dates
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
The following are locations in Douglas County, Nebraska:
- Boys Town
King Lake Venice
Business, Commerce, and Occupations
- Douglas County Cemeteries from RootsWeb - Links to some cemeteries and transcriptions
- Omaha obituary index. Lists over 150,000 obituaries from Omaha and surrounding areas.
Note about 'Mormon Cemetery'. Burials here are largely from the late 1840s, when the Mormons began their trek west, this general area very close to this spot is where they stopped for the winter of 1846 and subsequent groups heading for what is now known as Utah staged from this general area. This area is also known as 'Winter Quarters' due to the fact that the first group stopped for the winter around this location. There may be a very few later than that here as well.
Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.
For tips on accessing Douglas County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.
State Census Records
- 1854 - 1870 - Nebraska, Compiled Census Index, 1854-1870 at Ancestry.com - index ($)
- 1860 - 1885 - Nebraska State Census Collection 1860-1885 at Ancestry.com - index and images ($)
- 1885 - Nebraska State Census 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1885 - Nebraska State Census 1885 at Ancestry.com - index and images ($)
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.
Google maps shows many Douglas County churches
- Records of St. Paul's Lutheran Church, Millard, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Omaha Branch Record of Members 1929-1942 at Family History Library
- Omaha South Branch Record of Members 1941 at Family History Library
- Winter QuartersBishops Accounts 1840-1859 for Bishop Edward Hunter. Also includes Nauvoo, Illinois 5th Ward and Salt Lake City, Utah 13th Ward,
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
Land and Property Records
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
- DoGIS.com Geographical Information Systems for Douglas County. Locate addresses and land parcels in the county
- Land Patent Search - index to federal patents and homesteads on the Bureau of Land Management website, some images available
- 1796 - 1907 - U.S. General Land Office Records, 1796-1907 at Ancestry - index, info taken from Bureau of Land Management website
- 1861 - 1936 - U.S. Homestead Records 1861-1936 at Ancestry.com - ($), index and images
For more information see Nebraska Land and Property
Local histories are available for Douglas County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.
Maps and Gazetteers
- Nebraska Gazetteer - database for all known places found in 1890 and 1911 Nebraska gazetteers
- Interactive Formation Boundary Map of Nebraska - shows boundary changes for Nebraska Counties
Early migration routes to and from Douglas County for European and African American settlers included:
In December 1863 the First Transcontinental Railroad started from Omaha, Nebraska.
- Union Pacific Railroad
- American Memory from Library of Congress has maps of the Union Pacific Railroad
- Wikipedia article on the Union Pacific Railroad
- Railroad Museum in Omaha, Nebraska
- 1775 - 1783 - United States Rosters of Revolutionary War Soldiers and Sailors, 1775-1783 at FamilySearch - images only
- For more nationwide Revolutionary War databases, see US Military Online Genealogy Records.
- 1861 - 1865 - Nebraska Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- Grand Army of the Republic in Douglas County, Nebraska -- Provisional Organization - July 10, 1867 -- Permanent Organization June 12, 1877
- 1891 - Nebraska Resident Military Roster on June 1, 1891 at Ancestry.com - ($), Roster of Soldiers, Sailors, and Marines of the War of 1812, the Mexico War, and the War of the Rebellion, residing in Nebraska June 1, 1891
- 1893 - Roster of Nebraska Veterans - list of veterans in 1893
- For more nationwide Civil War databases, see US Military Online Genealogy Records.
- History of Nebraska GAR
- GAR information is available through the Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War
- Original Post
- Post # 1 OMAHA Chartered Dec. 13, 1866 by National Headquarters 15 members
- Later Posts
- Post #2 FT. OMAHA Phil Kearny Jan. 1, 1876-1896 Post moved to South Omaha Membership: Total-136+
- Post #2-A South Omaha Phil Kearny Oct 5, 1896-1924 Charter surrendered April 30, 1924 Membership: Total-304+
- Post # 7 Omaha George Custer June 5, 1876-1946 Changed Jan 9, 1922 when last 3 Omaha posts were combined to Old Guard (A reference to their being the last of their kind) Membership: Total-477+
- Post #110 Omaha Aug. 18, 1882-1921 Combined with Post #7 Omaha, changed on July (23), 1888 to U.S.Grant, Membership: Charter-18 Total-344+
- Post # 262 Omaha April 6, 1888-1921, Combined with Post 7 Gate City , (Post originally requested name of Thomas J. Potter) changed January 30, 1889 to Phil Sheridan, changed March 21, 1890 to George Crook, Membership: Total-400+
- Post # 282 South Omaha R.R. Livingston May 7, 1889-1896 Combined with Post 2-A 1827-1888 Membership: Charter-N/A Total-66+
- Post # 300 Florence James Isom March 29, 1890-1890 Charter surrendered 1/29/189,1Membership: Total-12
- Post # 337 South Omaha Samuel Dennis April 16, 1895-1896 Combined with Post 2-A Membership: Charter-27 Total-34
World War I
- 1917 - 1918 - World War I Drafts 1917-1918 - index only
- For more nationwide World War I databases, see US Military Online Genealogy Records.
Naturalization and Citizenship
For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers.
- Library of Congress Chronicling America newspaper project contains digital copies of newspapers for Douglas County, Nebraska. Some are foreign language newspaprs. Years of publication vary.
- Omaha Obits - site with obituary listings that includes the Omaha Bee, the Omaha Star (African-American paper) and the Jewish Press; provided by the Greater Omaha Genealogical Society. Nearly 19,000 listings from Omaha newspapers.
- 1870 - 1990 — Nebraska Prisoner Records 1870-1990 — index only
In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Douglas - Probate records.
Online Probate Records
Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- Douglas County births from early Omaha newspapers at the W. Dale Clark Library in Omaha. These birth announcements were extracted by those looking for obituaries in the same papers.
- 1855 - 1995 — Nebraska Marriages, 1855-1995 at FamilySearch — index only
- 1856 - 1898 — Nebraska Marriages 1856-1898 at Ancestry.com ($), index only
- Marriage License Indexes for Douglas County, Nebraska: Licenses since 1988 plus some earlier
- Marriage License Indexes for Omaha, Nebraska
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- Baright Public Library
5555 South 77th St
Ralston, NE 68127-2899
- Creighton University
Carl M. Reinert/Alumni Memorial Library
2500 California Plaza
Omaha, NE 68178
Phone: 402-280-2227; Archives: 402-280-2746
- Omaha Public Library
215 South 15th St
Omaha, NE 68102-1629
- Baright Public Library
- Historical Society of Douglas County
5730 N 30th St #11b
Omaha, NE 68111
Metro Community College
P.O. Box 11398
Phone: 402-455-9990; 402-451-1013
- Valley Community Historical Society
218 West Alexander
P.O. Box 685
Valley, NE 68064
Phone: 402-359-5544; 402-359-2678
- Greater Omaha Genealogical Society
720 N. 87th Street
P.O. Box 4011
Omaha, NE 68104-0011
- Historical Society of Douglas County
- Linkpendium links for Douglas County, Nebraska
- Linkforum for Douglas County, Nebraska
- Cyndi's List For Nebraska then scroll to Douglas County. Links to websites for multiple subjects
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Nebraska.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- http://genealogytrails.com/neb/douglas/ accessed 09/29/2016
- Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 452-465. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- Wikipedia contributors, "Adams County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adams_County,_Nebraska, accessed 29 July 2016.
- Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map I" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap1.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
- "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
- "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).