Douglas County, Colorado Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Douglas County, Colorado)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Colorado
Douglas County


Guide to Douglas County, Colorado ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Castle Rock
Organized: November 1, 1861
Parent County(s): Original county[1]
Neighboring Counties
Arapahoe  • El Paso  • Elbert  • Jefferson  • Park  • Teller
See County Maps
Courthouse
ColoradoDouglasCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Colorado Douglas County.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Stephen A. Douglas. The County has Castle Rock as its seat and the County was created November 1, 1861. The County is located in the central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Douglas County Courthouse
301 Wilcox St
Castle Rock, CO 80104-2454
Phone. 303.660.7446
Douglas County Website

County Clerk has marriage records from 1867 and land records from 1864[3]

Douglas County, Colorado Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1894 1867 1894 1861 1864 1861 1860
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • Parent County: Douglas County was created 1 November 1861 as an original county.
  • County Seat: Castle Rock [5]

Populated Places

The following are locations in Douglas county[6]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communites
Census-designated places
Ghost towns


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Douglas County, Colorado online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Colorado Cemeteries for more information

Major Cemeteries

  • Bear Canon Cemetery
  • Cedar Hill Cemetery
  • Fonder Cemetery
  • Franktown Cemetery
  • Glen Grove Cemetery
  • Parker Cemetery
  • Spring Valley Cemetery

Census Records

In 1860, present-day Colorado was enumerated in the Kansas, Nebraska, New Mexico, and Utah Territories. Colorado Territory was created in 1861 and was enumerated as such in the 1870 Census. A state census was taken in 1885 for Colorado.[7] See links listed below.

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1870 1,388
1880 2,486 79.1%
1890 3,006 20.9%
1900 3,120 3.8%
1910 3,192 2.3%
1920 3,517 10.2%
1930 3,498 −0.5%
1940 3,496 −0.1%
1950 3,507 0.3%
1960 4,816 37.3%
1970 8,407 74.6%
1980 25,153 199.2%
1990 60,391 140.1%
2000 175,766 191.0%
2010 285,465 62.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State and Territory Census Records

Federal Census Records

The 1880 Census was the first Federal Census for Colorado after it became a state in 1876.[8] For links to Federal Census indexes, see Colorado Census.

  • 1860-1940 Colorado Census Records from 1860 to 1940 at FamilySearch.org — index/images

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Colorado denominations, view the Colorado Church Records wiki page.

Online Church Records
Presbyterian Church

Court Records

Numerous records are available at Colorado Archives. To use this link scroll down the page to where it asks for Record Type. Click there and scroll down the list to the records you want and select. The next field asks for county. Select the county you want and then click on Search. You can narrow the search by adding the additional information it asks for.

1933-1936 County Old Age Pension Records 1933-1936. An Index compiled from the offical record of the applications granted by the Douglas County Commissioners during these years. Record may show the following:

  • Name of Applicant
  • Date and Amount of pension payment
  • Any adjustments to the pension
  • Person's age
  • Town nearest to where they lived
  • Other Actions done by the County

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.


Online Land Records

For more information see Colorado Land and Property

Local Histories

Douglas County History Research Center - website

Maps and Gazetteers

Denver CountyArapahoe CountyJefferson CountyTeller CountyEl Paso CountyElbert CountyCO DOUGLAS.JPG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Online Collections

These collections are unique to Colorado. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and Colorado Military Records.

All Veterans

Civil War

Spanish-American War (1898)

World War I

Vietnam War

For further information see Colorado Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Online Records

Newspapers

For more information, see Colorado Newspapers.

Colorado Newspapers Online

Colorado Newspaper Catalogs

  • U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.

You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.


Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Place Search for the county.


1911-1944 Colorado State Archives has put the Douglas County Inheritance Tax Records Index for 1911-1944 on-line.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.

For early vital records check Colorado State Archives, Historical Records Index

Birth

Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [9]

To obtain a recent birth certificate for yourself or a near relative, contact the Tri-County Health Department by calling 303-220-9200 or visiting:
6162 S. Willow Drive  #100
Greenwood Village, CO 80111

Marriage

Online Records

Death

Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [9]

To obtain a recent death certificate for yourself or a near relative, contact the Tri-County Health Department by calling 303-220-9200 or visiting:
6162 S. Willow Drive #100
Greenwood Village, CO 80111

Divorce

All divorces and divorce records are handled by the Douglas County Courts, Colorado Judicial District 18. Please contact their office directly at 720 437-6200.

Online Records

Research Facilities

Archives

The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for Douglas County, Colorado Genealogy in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
(Statewide)
1880-1939 Divorce Index
1883-1900 Mine Accidents, Non - fatal
1897-1920 Horseshoers
1936-1942 Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments
1966-1968 Vietnam Deaths

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Douglas County Libraries
100 South Wilcox
Castle Rock, CO 80104
Phone: (303) 688-7603
Douglas County Libraries website

Museums

Societies

Highlands Ranch Genealogical Society
c/o Highlands Ranch Library
9292 S Ridgeline Blvd
Highlands Ranch, CO 80129
Website

Parker Genealogical Society of Colorado
PO Box 2672
Parker, CO 80134
Website

Castle Rock Colorado Genealogical Society
Douglas County Libraries
100 S. Wilcox St.
Castle Rock Colorado 80104
Website

Columbine Genealogical And Historical Society
PO Box 2074
Littleton CO 80161-2074
Website

Littleton Historical Society
6028 S Gallup St.
Littleton CO 80120-2703
Telephone: 303-795-3950
Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, "Douglas County, Colorado Genealogy and History", http://genealogytrails.com/colo/douglas/ 6/28/2017.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Douglas County, Colorado. Page 98 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Douglas County, Colorado. Page 98 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 92.
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Douglas County, Colorado," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Douglas_County%2C_Colorado, accessed May 16, 2017.
  7. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 51-54; Alice Eichholz, ‘’Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources,’’ 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 2004), 86. Free online version; FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004; WorldCat entry.
  8. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 54.
  9. 9.0 9.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov