Dougherty County, Georgia Genealogy
Guide to Dougherty County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Dougherty County, Georgia|
Location in the state of Georgia
|Founded||December 15, 1853|
|Address|| Dougherty County Courthouse|
222 Pine Avenue
Albany, GA 31703-5301
Dougherty County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Genealogy Resources
- 5.1 Research Guides
- 5.2 African Americans
- 5.3 Bible Records
- 5.4 Cemeteries
- 5.5 Census
- 5.6 Church Records
- 5.7 Court
- 5.8 Genealogy
- 5.9 Land and Property
- 5.10 Local Histories
- 5.11 Maps
- 5.12 Military
- 5.13 Naturalization
- 5.14 Newspapers
- 5.15 Occupations
- 5.16 Probate Records
- 5.17 Taxation
- 5.18 Vital Records
- 5.19 Voter Records
- 6 Genealogy Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
Dougherty County, Georgia Record Dates
Dougherty County Courthouse
222 Pine Avenue
Albany, GA 31703-5301
Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and probate records
Clerk of Superior Court
225 Pine Ave., Rm. 126
P.O. Box 1827(31702)
Albany, GA 31701
Telephone: (229) 431-2198
Fax: (229) 431-2850
225 Pine Ave., Ste. 123, Albany, GA 31701
P. O. Box 1827, Albany, Georgia 31702
For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
County records are intact despite tornado damage to the courthouse on 10 February 1940 and fire damage on 2 May 1966.
Error: Image is invalid or non-existent.
The following web site may have additional information on Dougherty County cemeteries.
- Interment.net Georgia cemetery records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Dougherty County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
- History and Reminiscences of Dougherty County, Georgia. Albany, Ga.: Herald Pub. Co., 1924. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Georgia Military - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1861-1865 - Georgia Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Georgia Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
Regiments. Service men in Dougherty County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Dougherty County, Georgia Genealogy:
- - 4th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company E
- - 17th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company G
- - 18th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company D
- - 32nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company D
- - 51st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company K
- - 62nd Regiment, Georgia Cavalry (Confederate) , Company A
- - 64th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company D
- - Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
World War I
- 1920-1929 - Georgia, World War I, Statement of Service Cards, 1920-1929 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Albany Herald - full-text digital issues in Google News Archive; covers 1973-2009
- Albany Sunday Herald - full-text digital issues in Google News Archive; covers 1977-1992
Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Dougherty County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- FamilySearch Catalog. Do a Place search for Dougherty County, Georgia Genealogy to find these and other records in the FamilySearch Catalog (For instructions see FamilySearch Catalog Place-name Search).
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
Online Probate Records
- 1742–1992 Georgia Wills and Probate Records 1742-1992 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1742–1990 Georgia Probate Records 1742-1990 at FamilySearch.org - index and images
- 1854-1866 - Wills 1854-1866 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1854-1925 - Index to Wills, Vol. 1, 1854-1925 Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1849-1917 - Index to Annual Returns and Vouchers 1849-1917 Georgia Pioneers ($)
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.
- 1560 - 1993 - Georgia, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1699 - 1944 - Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at Ancestry.com— index $
- 1754 - 1960 - Georgia Church Marriages, 1754-1960 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1785 - 1950 - Georgia County Marriages 1785-1950 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1787 - 1962 - Georgia, Church Marriages, 1787-1962 at FamilySearch — index
- 1808 - 1967 - Georgia Marriages 1808-1967 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1828 - 1978 - Georgia Marriage Records from Select Counties 1828-1978 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1854 - 1871 - Dougherty County Marriage Books 1 and 2 Index 1854-1871. Batch M712681 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1871 - 1882 - Dougherty County Marriage Book 3 Index 1871-1882. Batch M712682 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
- 1882 - 1892 - Dougherty County Marriage Book 4 Index 1882-1892. Batch M712683 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
- 1891 - 1895 - Dougherty County Marriage Book 5 Index 1891-1895. Batch M712684 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1914 - 1927 - Georgia Deaths 1914-1927 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1919 - 1998 - Georgia Deaths 1919-1998 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1928 - 1942 - Georgia Deaths 1928-1939 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1933 - 1998 - Georgia Death Index 1933-1998 at FamilySearch.org — index
Death Record Substitutes
- 1859-60, 1869-70, 1879-80 - Dougherty County, Georgia Genealogy Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
- Dougherty County, Georgia Obituary Collection Collected from funeral homes in the Albany, Bridgeboro, Putney, and the Southwestern Georgia area - free
Vital Record Substitutes
- 1867-1868 - Georgia, Reconstruction Registration Oath Books, 1867-1868 at FamilySearch — index
Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Dougherty County, GA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Georgia Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Georgia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb Dougherty County, Georgia project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Dougherty County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dougherty County, Georgia. Page 154 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 28. At various libraries (WorldCat).
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.